No popular authors found.
Ads by Google:

Categories

No categories found.


Get Celiac.com's E-Newsletter




Ads by Google:


Questions? Join Our Forum:
~1 Million Posts
& Over 66,000 Members!



SHARE THIS PAGE:
Celiac.com Sponsors:

Grilled Pineapple Mango Salsa (Gluten-Free)

Celiac.com 09/16/2014 - In response to a request to add some low-fat, recipes to the mix, I offer this recipe for pineapple mango salsa. It pairs great with grilled fish and delivers fresh, low-fat summer flavor.

Photo--cc--Corbin DanaIngredients:

  • 6 slices fresh pineapple, grilled
  • 4-6 tomatillos, grilled
  • 1 red bell pepper, grilled
  • 1 jalapeño pepper, grilled
  • ½ Serrano pepper, grilled
  • 3 large yellow mangos - peeled, seeded, and diced
  • 1 small white onion, grilled
  • 1 small fresh red onion, diced
  • ¼ cup chopped cilantro
  • juice of 2 limes
  • 1½ teaspoons lime zest

Directions:
Preheat an outdoor grill for medium-high heat; lightly oil the grate.

Cook the pineapple, red bell pepper, and jalapeño pepper on the grill, turning frequently, until the pineapple has mild grill marks and the peppers are browned on all sides, about 3 minutes for pineapple and 5 to 7 minutes for peppers.

Ads by Google:

Carefully remove from grill and place peppers in paper bag to cool.

After peppers are cool, rub skins off gently with paper towels, cut in half, and remove and discard seeds.

Dice the cooled pineapple and peppers, and place into a bowl.

Add the mango, red onion, cilantro, lime juice, and lime zest; stir to combine.

Cover the bowl with plastic wrap and refrigerate for 8 hours to 1 day before serving.

Celiac.com welcomes your comments below (registration is NOT required).












Related Articles



Comments




Rate this article and leave a comment:
Rating: * Poor Excellent
Your Name *: Email (private) *:




In Celiac.com's Forum Now:


Thanks, I appreciate the insight. I will just play it safe and stop eating that type of granola bar. If you have any other advice or comments I would love to hear it. Thanks so much!

Some of that brand are gluten-free , but they will say they are. Some of their bars are not gluten-free because they do not use gluten-free oats. If you are eating non- gluten-free oats or products made with them, there is a possibility that some are actually gluten-free and som...

I know. this will be my first celiac diagnosed halloween. ever where I go I see kit kats which were my favorite. I plan to get some m&m for myself. I still hear from people that 1 won't hurt you, but they don't understand .

Hey, I have a sensitivity to gluten, and I have been gluten free for a while. Today I started having a terrible cramp that I?ve learned I only get when I have had something with gluten in it. Recently I?ve eaten a nature valley whole grain granola bar, I wasn?t sure when I began eating them ...

Thank you! I?ll Get retested.