Ads by Google:

Celiac Disease and Gluten-Free Diet Support

Gluten-free and Gluten-safe Halloween Candy for 2014 10/17/2014 - With Halloween 2014 looming like a goblin, the search for gluten-free and gluten-safe candy selections in underway.

Here is’s latest, most up-to-date list of Gluten-free and Gluten-safe Candy List for Halloween 2014. This year, we offer our most comprehensive list, which includes new gluten-free treats like Kinder Surprise Eggs, among others. 

Below, you will find a list of UNSAFE, NON–gluten–free candies, along with a partial list of major candy makers with links to their company websites.

Please keep in mind that this list is not complete, or definitive, and should only be used as a guideline.

Before eating any candy on the list, be sure to read labels, check manufacturer’s information, and gauge your purchases according to your own sensitivity levels, or those of your children.

Check manufacturer websites for official information on any specific products.

Photo: CC--WxMomGluten-free and Gluten-safe Candy List for Halloween 2014:

  • 3 Musketeers fun size
  • 3 Musketeers Mint with dark chocolate


  • Act II Popcorn Balls
  • Adams & Brooks Fun Pops Scooby Doo
  • Ingredients free of: peanuts, tree nuts, egg, milk, wheat/gluten, soy
  • Albert's Gummy Eyeballs
  • Albert's Iced Halloween pops (lollipops)
  • Alien Pop, Baseball Pop, Basketball Pop, Boo Pop, Carousel Pop, ColorBlaster Pop, Football Pop, Happy Heart Pop, Hoppin' Pop, Lickin' Lips Pop, Lolliday Pop, Lollinotes, Pop-A-Bear, Soccer Pop, Alien Glow Pop, Buggin' Glow Pop, Burstin Bits, and Ghostly Glow Pop
  • Almond Joy - All Except ALMOND JOY PIECES Candy
  • Almond Joy fun size bars
  • Altoids (except for Altoids Smalls Peppermint)
  • Amanda's Own Confections Chocolate shapes and chocolate lollipops
  • Annie's Organic Bunny Fruit snacks
  • Applehead, Grapehead, Cherryhead


  • Baby Ruth original and fun size
  • Barrels of Candy
  • Bazooka Big Mix (includes bubble gum, bubble gum filled candy, candy chews, and bubble gum filled lollipops)
  • Bazooka Ring Pops
  • Bazooka Push Pops
  • Bazooka Baby Bottle Pops
  • Betty Crocker Fruit by the Foot Wicked Webs Berry Wave mini feet
  • Betty Crocker Halloween fruit flavored snacks, including Fruit Gushers, Fruit Roll–ups, and Mini Rolls
  • Bit•O•Honey
  • Big Blow bubblegum
  • Black Forest Gummy Tarantulas
  • Black Forest Gummy Fun Bugs Juicy Oozers
  • Bubbly lollipop and gum
  • Butterfinger bar, original and fun size


  • Cadbury Adams Swedish Fish
  • Cadbury Adams Sour Patch Kids and Sour Patch Extreme
  • Candy Checkers (made for Target)
  • Caramel Apple Pops (made by Tootsie Roll)
  • Charleston Chew original and fun size
  • Charms Blow Pops and Blow Pop Minis – may contain milk or soy
  • Charms Candy Carnival Package – Blow Pops, Sugar Babies, Zip a Dee mini pops, Sugar Daddy, Pops, Sugar Mama Caramel, Tear Jerkers sour bubble gum, Blow Pop Bubble Gum – may contain milk or soy
  • Charms Fluffy Stuff Spider Web cotton candy
  • Chewy Atomic Fireballs
  • Chewy Lemonheads and Friends
  • Chupa Chups Fruit Lollipops
  • Circus Peanuts by Spangler
  • Clark Bars
  • Coastal Bay Confections Candy Corn, Mellocreme Pumpkins, Autumn Mix
  • Colombina Scary Eyeballs bubblegum
  • Colombina Fizzy Pops
  • Comix Mix Candy Sticks – Tom and Jerry, Flintstones, Scooby
  • Doo, Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles, Popeye
  • Cracker Jack caramel coated popcorn and peanuts
  • Crispy Cat Mint Coconut Candy Bar
  • Crispy Cat Toasted Almond Candy Bar
  • Crispy Cat Chocolate Marshmallow Candy Bar
  • CVS Brand Candy Bracelet with Pendant


  • Disney Halloween Candy Mix – jelly beans, gummies, candy bracelets and characters from Cars, Tinkerbell and Toy Story
  • Dots Gumdrops – including Candy Corn Dots, Ghost Dots, and Bat Dots
  • Dove pieces – Dark Chocolate, Milk Chocolate, Peanut Butter Milk Chocolate, Caramel Milk Chocolate
  • Dubble Bubble bubblegum
  • Dum Dum Chewy Pops
  • Dum Dum Lollipops (including Shrek Pops)


  • Farley’s Kiddie Mix - Smarties, SweetTarts, Now and Later, Jaw Breakers, Super Bubble and Lolli-pops
  • Ferrara Pan Caramels
  • Ferrara Pan Lemonhead & Friends candy mix – including Applehead, Cherryhead, Grapehead, Chewy Lemonhead & Friends, Chewy Atomic Fireball, and Red Hots
  • FLIX Spooky Lip Pops Lollipops, Angry Birds Lollipops, Gummy Boo Bands, Monsters, Inc. Character Candies, Lollipops and Marshmallow Eyeballs
  • Florida’s Natural Healthy Treats Nuggets, Sour String, Fruit Stiks
  • Fright Fingers Popcorn Kit
  • Frankford’s Bugs Gummy Candy
  • Frankford’s Gummy Body Parts
  • Frankford’s Marshmallow Pals
  • Fun Dip
  • Fun Dip Sour


  • Game Night boxes of candy game pieces (includes Operation, Sorry!, Monopoly, Life, and Clue)
  • Gimbal’s Fine Candies Jelly Beans, Sour Lovers, Cherry Lovers, Cinnamon Lovers, LavaBalls, Licorice Scotties
  • Goldenberg's peanut chews
  • Goobers
  • Grave Gummies (Yummy Gummies)
  • Greenbriar Skull and Bones Fruit Hard Candy, Spooky Lollipop Rings, Grave Gummies
  • Gummy Brush Paint Shop
  • Gummy Pirate Choppers


  • Haribo Gold-Bears
  • Heath milk chocolate English toffee bar and snack size - contains almonds
  • Hershey's Kisses Milk Chocolate & Filled Chocolates - ALL
  • Hershey's Milk Chocolate bars
  • Hershey's Milk Chocolate with Almonds
  • Hershey's Milk Duds
  • Hershey's Nuggets (Milk Chocolate, Milk Chocolate with Almonds, Milk Chocolate with Toffee and Almonds, Special Dark, Special Dark with Almonds),
  • Hershey's Skor Toffee Bars
  • Hot Tamales
  • Hot Tamales Spray
  • Hubba Bubba Gum
  • Humphrey Popcorn Balls


  • Ice Cream Dipper (Blue Raspberry, Strawberry)


  • Jelly Belly beans – gluten–free, dairy–free
  • Jolly Rancher hard candy and Doubles Candy
  • Jolly Rancher Hard Candy Stix, Lollipops and Fruit Chews
  • Jr. Mints fun size – may contain eggs
  • Just Born Jelly Beans
  • Just Born marshmallow treats


  • Kellogg’s Spongebob Squarepants fruit flavored snacks
  • Kinder Surprise Eggs
  • Kraft Caramels
  • Kraft Jet–Puffed Boo Mallows and Ghost Mallows
  • Kraft Swedish Fish
  • Kraft Sour Patch Kids and Sour Patch Extreme


  • Laffy Taffy Plain, Stretchy & Tangy and Rope
  • Lemonheads
  • Lifesavers
  • LifeSavers Gummies including Big Ring Gummies, Sweet ‘n’ Sour, and Scary Assortment
  • Lollipop Paint Shop

Photo: CC--terren In VirginiaM

  • M&M’s – original, peanut, peanut butter
  • Mars M&M's – except pretzel M&M's
  • Mars Dove chocolate products
  • Mars Munch Nut bar
  • Mars Snickers, Snickers Dark bars, fun size and mini’s – may contain almonds
  • Mary Janes
  • Mallo Cup
  • Marvel Heroes Candy Sticks (Hulk, Spiderman, Wolverine)
  • Mega Warheads
  • Melster Chocolate Covered Marshmallow
  • Melster Peanut Butter Kisses
  • Milk Duds
  • Mike and Ike
  • Mike and Ike Spray
  • Mini Mentos
  • Mini Sour Dudes Straws
  • Monstaz Pops (jack–o–lantern lollipops)
  • Monster Hunt plastic monster eggs filled with candy bones, skulls and pumpkins (made for Target)
  • Mounds
  • Mounds dark chocolate fun size bars
  • Mr. Goodbar


  • Necco’s Sky Bar 4 in 1 chocolate bar
  • Necco Wafers
  • Necco Mary Janes
  • Necco Mary Jane Peanut Butter Kisses – does contain peanuts
  • Necco Sweethearts Conversation Hearts (available for Valentine's Day only)
  • Necco Canada Mint & Wintergreen Lozenges
  • Necco Haviland Thin Mints and Candy Stix
  • Necco Clark Bars
  • Necco Skybars
  • Necco Haviland Peppermint & Wintergreen Patties
  • Necco Candy Eggs
  • Necco Talking Pumpkins (available at Halloween only)
  • Necco Squirrel Nut Caramels and Squirrel Nut Zippers
  • Necco Banana Split and Mint Julep Chews
  • Necco Ultramints
  • Nestle Milk Chocolate fun size bars
  • Nestle Baby Ruth
  • Nestle Bit–O–Honey
  • Nestle Butterfinger (NOT Butterfinger Crisp or Butterfinger Stixx)
  • Nestle Goobers – does contain peanuts
  • Nestle Nips (both regular and sugar–free)
  • Nestle Oh Henry!
  • Nestle Raisinets – made on equipment that processes peanuts
  • Nestle Sno–Caps
  • Nestle Wonka Pixy Stix
  • Nestle Wonka Laffy Taffy
  • Nestle Wonka Lik–M–Aid Fun Dip
  • Nestle Wonka Spree
  • Nik-L-Nip wax bottles with juice
  • Now and Later


  • Oh Henry!
  • Operation Gummy Candy


  • Palmer Peanut Butter Cups – does contain peanuts
  • Pay Day peanut caramel bar snack size
  • Peanut M&M’s
  • Pearson’s Bun candy – maple and roasted peanuts
  • Pearson’s Mint Patties,
  • Pearson’s Nut Goodies
  • Pearson's Salted Nut Rolls
  • Peeps Jack–o–lanterns, Ghosts, Peeps Pumpkins and Chocolate Mousse Cats – “Gluten Free”
  • Pez candy – All PEZ products are “Gluten Free”
  • Pop Rocks
  • Popcorn Expressions Kettle Corn Snack Bags
  • Pixie Stix
  • Pure Fun Halloween Pure Pops


  • Rain Blo Bubble Gum Eyes of Terror
  • Raisinets
  • Razzles candy gum
  • Red Hots
  • Reese's Fast Break candy bars and snack size
  • Reese's Peanut Butter Cups snack size and miniatures – Except REESE'S Peanut Butter Cup Unwrapped Minis and Seasonal Shaped Items
  • Reese's Pieces
  • Reese's Select Peanut Butter Cremes
  • Reese's Select Clusters
  • Reese's Whipps
  • Riviera Spooky Candy Rings
  • Rolo chocolate covered caramels – Except ROLO Minis


  • Sidewalk Chalk
  • Sixlets
  • Skeleton Pops (lollipops)
  • Skittles includes Original, Sour, Wild Berry, Fizzl’d Fruits, and Crazy Core, including fun-size
  • Smarties – (the small pastel–colored candies sold in rolls and made by Ce De). Also Candy Money, Candy Necklace, Easter Smarties, Giant Smarties, Giant Smarties Pops, Love Hearts, Mega Smarties, Smarties in a Pouch, Tropical Smarties, Smarties Double Lollies, Smarties Mega Lollies, Smarties Parties, Smarties Pops, and X-TREME Sour Smarties. Manufacturer states: These products contains NO: gluten, milk, egg, fish, crustacean shellfish, tree nuts, wheat, peanuts, or soy. (US only, NOT gluten-free in Canada).
  • Snickers
  • Snickers Fudge bar
  • Sno-Caps
  • Sno-Cone
  • Soda Pop
  • Sour Patch
  • Spooky Candy Rings (eyeballs, Frankenstein heads and other shapes on rings)
  • Starburst Fruit Chews and fun-size
  • Starburst Gummibursts and Sour Gummibursts
  • Sugar Babies
  • Sugar Daddy Caramel Pops
  • Super Bubble bubble gum
  • Surf Sweets Gummy Worms
  • Surf Sweets Gummy Swirls
  • Surf Sweets Gummy Bears
  • Surf SweetsFruity Bears
  • Surf Sweets Jelly Beans
  • Surf Sweets Sour Worms
  • Surf Sweets Sour Berry Bears
  • Swedish Fish
  • Sweethearts conversation hearts Forbidden Fruits (candy packaging of The Twilight Saga, New Moon the movie)
  • Sweet’s Candy Corn Taffy


  • Tootsie Caramel Apple Pops
  • Tootsie Pops – original and mini
  • Tootsie Rolls Midgies and snack bars
  • Topps - Baby Bottle Pop, Ring Pops, Push Pops, Ring Pop Gummies, Bazooka Gum, Bazooka Gum Nuggets
  • Transformers Candy Mix – gummy shields, fruit chews, candy shields, gum rocks
  • Twist and Glow, Twist and Glow Heart, Twist and Glow Pumpkin


  • Warheads – Extreme Sour hard candy and Sour QBZ chewy cubes
  • Warheads Sour Chewy Cubes
  • Warheads Super Sour Spray, Sour Dippers, Double Drops
  • Wonka Bottlecaps
  • Wonka Chocolate Laffy Taffy
  • Wonka Giant Chewy Nerds Jelly Beans
  • Wonka Giant Pixy Stix
  • Wonka Gobstopper Everlasting
  • Wonka Gobstopper Chewy
  • Wonka Fruit Tart Chews
  • Wonka Fun Dip and Fun Dip Sour
  • Wonka Laffy Taffy Ropes
  • Wonka Mix–Ups
  • Wonka Monster Mix–Ups – SweetTarts Skulls and Bones, Spooky Nerds, Howlin’ Laffy Taffy
  • Wonka Nerds – carry a cross contamination warning on the Spooky Nerds orange and fruit punch flavors
  • Wonka Pixy Stix
  • Wrigley's Gum


  • X–scream Mouth Morphers Fruit Gushers


  • York Peppermint Patties
  • York Peppermint Patties Pumpkins


  • Zed Candy Skulls and Bones

With all these selections, finding some good, gluten–free candy should be a snap. As always, be sure to read labels, as some ingredients can vary.



  • Packaging states that Airheads are: “Manufactured in a facility that processes wheat flour.”
  • FAQs state that: “Airheads do not contain gluten; however, they are processed in a facility that uses wheat flour, so the company does not guarantee that Airheads are gluten-free.
  • Airheads Xtremes Rolls contains wheat flour


  • Abba Zabba – contains: peanuts, soybean oil and soy lecithin, wheat/gluten

Big Hunk

  • Package statement: “made in a facility that uses milk, egg, tree nuts, wheat and peanuts”


  • Contains: milk, peanuts, soy lecithin, eggs, wheat/gluten

Rocky Road, Rocky Road Mint, Rocky Road Dark

  • Contain wheat/gluten


  • Contains: milk, almonds, soy lecithin, wheat/gluten


  • Sour Punch Sticks, Twists, Bits, Bites, Straws – contains wheat/gluten
  • Red Vines – all varieties, including Black, Natural and Fruit Vines – contains wheat/gluten


  • Zombee Bloody Bites (glow in the dark plastic fangs with oozing candy blood bags)
  • Zombee Candy Corn (in a tall tube with plastic pumpkin lid)
  • Package statement: “Made in a facility that also processes milk, wheat, peanuts, tree nuts.”


  • All Brach's candy should be considered NOT gluten–free! Please be careful, as I have seen Brach's candies included on gluten-free safe lists!


  • Sour Patch Xploderz


  • Chuckles Ju Jubes


  • Candy Corn, Autumn Mix, Candy Pumpkins
  • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, milk, tree nuts, peanuts
  • Package statement: “This product was packaged in a facility where other products containing peanuts, tree nuts, milk, wheat, soy and egg are also packaged.”


  • Harvest Mix and Candy Corn – This product is made by Brach’s. All Brach’s candies are considered to contain gluten. See Brach’s blistings.
  • Heide candies – Jujyfruits, Jujubes, Red Raspberry Dollars, Red Hot Dollars Wild Cherry, Heide Gummi Bears
  • Super Bubble and Super Bubble Blast
  • Trolli Gummi Bears, Trolli Sour Brite (Frite) Crawlers
  • “Packaged on equipment that packages products containing traces of milk, wheat, egg, peanuts, tree nuts and/or soy protein.”
  • Ferrero Rocher Chocolates 


Ads by Google:

  • Bag of Boogers Gummies - “Manufactured in a facility that processes gluten (wheat), milk, egg, peanuts, tree nuts and soy.”


  • Frankford Fun Size Mix (Peanut Butter, Caramel and Crispy Chocolate Covered Candies) Crispy Candies
  • SpongeBob Gummy Krabby Patties


  • Goetze’s Caramel Creams, Cow Tales – Contain wheat flour, milk, and soy.


  • Black Licorice Wheels
  • Brixx
  • Fruity Pasta
  • Konfekt and Pontefract Cakes
  • Red Licorice Wheels
  • Sour S’ghetti


Hershey Snack Sized Bars - ALL

Kit Kat – contains wheat

Reese's Minis

Reese’s Peanut Butter Pumpkins

Twizzlers – contains wheat

Whoppers – contains barley malt and wheat flour

Hershey’s Bliss (Milk Chocolate, Milk Chocolate with Almonds, Milk Chocolate with Meltaway Center, White Chocolate with Meltaway Center, Milk Chocolate with Raspberry Meltaway Center, Dark Chocolate) – No gluten ingredients, but not on Hershey’s official gluten-free list.

Hershey's Good & Plenty

Hershey’s Mr. Goodbar fun size

Hershey’s Twizzlers, Flavored Twists


  • Warheads Sour Twists – contain wheat/gluten, milk


  • Milky Way – contains barley malt
  • Twix – contains wheat


  • Butterfinger Crisp or Butterfinger Stixx – contains wheat flour
  • Crunch – contains barley malt, and is “made on equipment that also processes wheat.”
  • Hundred Grand Bar – contains barley malt,and is “made on equipment that also processes wheat.”
  • Wonka Oompas and the Wonka Bar are NOT gluten–free.


  • Palmer Bag of Boo’s fudge bars
  • Palmer Tricky Treats (mix of Googley Eyes, Boneheads, and Pumpkin Patch chocolate candies)
  • Palmer Trick or Treat Mix
  • Palmer Peppermint Patties
RUSSELL STOVER'S – Russell Stover's products are produced on equipment that also processes peanuts, tree nuts, eggs and wheat gluten.


  • Wonka Bar
  • Wonka Chewy Runts
  • Wonka Chewy Spree
  • Wonka Giant and Mini Chewy SweeTarts
  • Wonka Nerds
  • Wonka Oompas
  • Wonka Runts
  • Wonka Runts Chewy
  • Wonka SweetTarts
  • Wonka Sweetarts (regular)
  • Wonka Sweetarts Chew
  • Wonka Sweetarts Chewy Twists
  • Wonka Sweetarts Giant Chewy
  • Wonka Sweetarts Mini Chewy
  • Wonka Shockers
  • Wonka Sweetarts Gummy Bugs – contains wheat/gluten
  • Wonka Sweetarts Rope – contains wheat/gluten
  • Wonka Sweetarts Shockers
  • Wonka Tart N Tinys
  • Wonka Tart N Tinys Chew
  • Wonka SweetTarts Boo Bag Mix 

Additional information and lists of gluten-free safe and unsafe Halloween candies can be found at:

Here is a partial list of major candy manufacturers and how to contact them: welcomes your comments below (registration is NOT required).

  EmailGet Email Alerts (More Info)

Spread The Word

Related Articles

  • Gluten-free and Gluten-safe Candy List for Halloween 2013 Holy smoke! Halloween 2013 is descending upon us faster than the Headless Horseman! That means the scramble to find good gluten-free and gluten-safe candy selections is also afoot.... [READ MORE]
  • Gluten-free and Gluten-safe Candy List for Halloween 2012 Halloween means that many parents of children who must avoid gluten are wondering which Halloween candies are safe for kids and grown-ups on a gluten–free diet? Below, is an updated list of gluten–friendly and gluten–free Halloween candies currently available.... [READ MORE]
  • Gluten-free and Gluten-safe Halloween Candy 2011 Once again, Halloween is around the corner and that means parents of children who must avoid gluten are wondering which candies, especially seasonal and Halloween candies, are safe for kids on a gluten–free diet?As awareness of celiac disease and gluten–free diets grows, more parents are demanding gluten–free products, and more manufacturers are responding with gluten–free products.... [READ MORE]

7 Responses:

DJ Dyspeptic
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfullratingempty Unrated
said this on
21 Oct 2014 5:14:28 PM PDT
Also: Milk Duds. It appears on both the GF and the "May Contain Gluten" lists.

Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfull Unrated ( Author)
said this on
22 Oct 2014 11:25:49 AM PDT
Thank you for your reply! According to Hershey's, ALL Milk Duds are gluten-free. We will update the list to reflect that information.


said this on
21 Oct 2014 7:44:34 PM PDT
The only Hershey kisses that are safe are milk chocolate and the filled.

Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfullratingempty Unrated
said this on
22 Oct 2014 12:13:25 PM PDT
Cool article

Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfull Unrated
said this on
24 Oct 2014 11:09:46 AM PDT
Just in time for Halloween--thank you!

Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfull Unrated
said this on
27 Oct 2014 9:27:40 AM PDT
Thank you.

Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfull Unrated
said this on
27 Oct 2014 3:30:15 PM PDT
Good work! Thanks a million.

Rate this article and leave a comment:
Rating: * Poor Excellent
Your Name *: Email (private) *:

In's Forum Now:

All Activity Celiac Disease & Gluten-Free Diet Forum - All Activity

Hi Dalek, JMG has it right, any food with wheat, rye or barley is a gluten containing food. In addition, watch out for malt, which is sometimes made from barley. That includes the malt in beers.

Interesting!! I'm going to share that with her dr. I'll have to look into the gluten sensitivity more myself, the main reason we started testing is due to poor growth. As I learned more, I've seen several symptoms that could be explained by celiac. I like feeling informed so I'll know what to talk to the dr about or ask about. I think those are the results we are waiting for still, I couldn't remember the name.

Call your doctor's office and ask them to relay your request to the doctor to amend the test request, they should be able to sort it without an additional meeting and delay. Worth a try anyway I think the Biocard tests TTG IGA and it may give you an indication. Do post your results here as I'm sure others will be interested in its effectiveness. If it's negative however remember that there are several celiac tests for a reason. Some test on one, some on another etc... However my guess is your doctor will dismiss them and want their own testing. That's the usual experience.

Waiting for the EMA, I bet. Keep advocating! this is interesting. If celiac disease is excluded, she might still have a gluten sensitivity. There just is not specific test for that.

I think all the flavors are all gluten free. I buy them at my local grocery store which is a Kroger store. Amazon has them too. Jenny at "The Patient Celiac" uses them too (she is a preemie doctor who has celiac disease).

No popular articles found.
No popular authors found.