No popular authors found.
Ads by Google:

Categories

No categories found.


Get Celiac.com's E-Newsletter





Ads by Google:


Follow / Share


  FOLLOW US:
Twitter Facebook Google Plus Pinterest RSS Podcast Email  Get Email Alerts
SHARE:

Popular Articles

No popular articles found.
Celiac.com Sponsors:

Celiac Patients Also React to Non-gluten Wheat Proteins

Celiac.com 12/29/2014 - While the immune response to gluten proteins in celiac disease has been well researched, and is pretty well understood, researchers really don’t know much about the immune response to non-gluten proteins in wheat. A team of researchers recently set out to determine the level and molecular specificity of antibody response to wheat non-gluten proteins in celiac disease.

Photo: CC--Duncan HullThe research team included Sina Huebener, Charlene K. Tanaka, Melanie Uhde, John J. Zone, William H. Vensel, Donald D. Kasarda §, Leilani Beams, Chiara Briani, Peter H. R. Green, Susan B. Altenbach, and Armin Alaedini. They are variously affiliated with the Department of Medicine at Columbia University in New York, New York, USA, the Celiac Disease Center at Columbia University in New York, New York, USA, the Western Regional Research Center, Agricultural Research Service of the United States Department of Agriculture in Albany, California, USA, the Department of Dermatology at the University of Utah in Salt Lake City, Utah, USA, the Department of Neurosciences at the University of Padova, in Padova, Italy, and the Institute of Human Nutrition at Columbia University in New York, New York, USA.

Together, the team screened blood samples from celiac patients and control subjects for IgG and IgA antibody reactivity to a non-gluten protein extract taken from the wheat cultivar Triticum aestivum Butte 86.

They also analyzed the antibodies for reactivity to specific non-gluten proteins by two-dimensional gel electrophoresis and immunoblotting. They used tandem mass spectrometry to identify any immuno-reactive molecules.

Ads by Google:

They found that, compared with healthy control subjects, celiac patients showed significantly higher levels of antibody reactivity to non-gluten proteins. The main immuno-reactive non-gluten antibody culprit proteins were serpins, purinins, α-amylase/protease inhibitors, globulins, and farinins.

Assessment of reactivity toward purified recombinant proteins further confirmed the presence of antibody response to specific antigens.

These results show that, in addition to the well-understood immune reaction to gluten, people with celiac disease experience reactions to a number of non-gluten proteins of wheat.

The short take away is that the bodies of people with celiac disease show clear immune responses, not just to gluten proteins in wheat, but to non-gluten proteins, as well.

Source:

Celiac.com welcomes your comments below (registration is NOT required).










Related Articles



2 Responses:

 
sami
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfull Unrated
said this on
29 Dec 2014 9:13:16 PM PDT
Excellent info.

 
Jennifer
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfull Unrated
said this on
26 Jan 2015 10:23:07 AM PDT
It would be interesting to know if these other non-gluten proteins found in wheat were found in non-gluten foods, and if so whether there is a benefit to celiacs from omitting those foods from our diets.




Rate this article and leave a comment:
Rating: * Poor Excellent
Your Name *: Email (private) *:




In Celiac.com's Forum Now:


Hello. I was wondering what flavor the potato chips were. Some flavors have dairy in them, like sour cream and onion, or ranch, or cheese. Sometimes people with Celiac Disease develop an intolerance, or even an allergy, to dairy which can affect behavior, too. Some chips have flavor enha...

I think this site is a far better source of info and support than any of the Facebook groups I've seen. Its certainly been a great help to me. I found that too much web surfing on some other sites including Facebook just made things more difficult, there are either sites pushing commercial soluti...

Looks like this soup does contain gluten: https://www.chilis.com/docs/Chilis-Allergen-Generic.pdf The page that lists gluten free options does not show the enchilada soup as being gluten free (scroll down a few pages).

Okay, you ordered it online. What does the ingredient label say? I did not even know they made a canned or packaged soup? Or did you order online and picked it up at the restaurant? Maybe there is no gluten at all. Maybe they only use masa flour (corn) as the soup base.

I ordered it online and it was an accident. The store is now closed and the internet is not offering any solutions. The customer service helpline is useless.