No popular authors found.


Get Celiac.com's E-Newsletter

Categories

No categories found.







Ads by Google:


Questions? Join Our Forum:
~1 Million Posts
& Over 66,000 Members!



SHARE THIS PAGE:
Celiac.com Sponsors:

Which grains are safe, which are not?

The common list of forbidden grains is: wheat, rye, barley and oats.

Unfortunately, there are variants out there that go by other names. Durum and semolina are names for certain kinds of wheat that have been bred for specific uses. Both spelt and kamut are versions of wheat. (Other names for these: spelt, Polish wheat, einkorn and small spelt). Bulgur is wheat thats been specially processed. Triticale, a grain crossbred from wheat and rye, is definitely on the toxic list.

Though corn (maize) is one of those grains that many people -- not just celiacs -- may be allergic to, it is not a grain that is thought to cause damage to the villi in celiacs. It is tolerated by most celiacs.

Of the common grains, rice is the favorite as it rarely troubles anyone.

Ads by Google:

Aside from corn and rice, there is a wide variety of other grains that are used in gluten-free cooking. We even use beans and peas (legumes, pulses).

The following can be milled into flour: amaranth*, buckwheat* (or kasha), chickpeas (garbanzos), Jobs tears (Hato Mugi, Junos Tears, River Grain), lentils, millet*, peas, quinoa*, ragi, sorghum, soy, tapioca, teff*, and wild rice. Many of these flours are available in health food stores. Some (like rice flour) may be available in grocery stores. (The products marked with an "*" are listed as grains to avoid by some physicians and celiac societies. See the discussion below about anecdotal evidence and possible contamination of flours for more information.)

To improve the texture of gluten-free baked goods, most cooks use one or more of the following: xanthan gum, guar gum (though this sometimes has a laxative effect), methylcellulose, or a new product called Clear Gel. These can be obtained either through health food stores, specialty cooks stores, or some of the mail order sources listed below.

Oils popular in cooking include: corn, peanut, olive, rapeseed (canola), safflower, soy, and sunflower.

Celiac.com welcomes your comments below (registration is NOT required).












2 Responses:

 
Nancy Olson
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfull Unrated
said this on
11 Jul 2008 11:46:27 AM PST
About the same time as you, I got diagnosed with GI. but my nutritionist had an impossibly long list of grains to avoid. All I remembered was rice and corn were OK. I'd welcome alternatives.
cheers,
Nancy in San Jose CA

 
Ahmed Mohammmad
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfull Unrated
said this on
07 Aug 2008 4:08:33 PM PST
Oats do not harm most celiac disease adult patients.




Rate this article and leave a comment:
Rating: * Poor Excellent
Your Name *: Email (private) *:




In Celiac.com's Forum Now:


I have Julian Bakery Bars, Miracle Noodle MRE, I also have cans of freeze dried eggs. Gluten Free Emergency kits, Mountain House, Thrive, and Augason Farms (used to) have gluten free options of freeze dried foods. Make sure you check the box or look at the gluten-free versions of selections but t...

Almond flour is a VERY common one, look up recipes yourself, I have used coconut for a softer breading, works well, I have a customer at my bakery who claims she loves dipping her chicken in chia seeds then frying them...bit extra crunchy. I have used bean chips like Beanitos and Beanfields fla...

For chicken and fish I have always dipped them in regular all purpose flour or breadcrumbs but seeking a healthier option, any ideas please?

Thank you for all of the info/advice. From a Psoriatic standpoint I had to eat healthier no matter what so my diet changes will need to be focused on that. It's just a few simple foods I need to get clear on, maybe you can advise on this please? Is it ok for a Celiac to eat regular eggs or would ...

Beans and legumes do contain lectins. I am not sure if pressurized cooking really removes them (and I cook with one). I would look for scientific research and not a blog to back this up. If you suspect lectins are an issue for you and are willing to experiment, then completely remove them for...