No popular authors found.
Ads by Google:

Categories

No categories found.




Get Celiac.com's E-Newsletter





Ads by Google:


Questions? Join Our Forum:
~1 Million Posts
& Over 66,000 Members!



SHARE THIS PAGE:
Celiac.com Sponsors:

General Mills Recalls 1.8 million Boxes of Gluten-free Honey Nut Cheerios

General Mills is voluntarily recalling several days of production of Cheerios and Honey Nut Cheerios cereal produced at its Lodi, California facility on certain dates in July of this year because of an undeclared allergen – wheat – with potential adverse health effects. Because this recall relates to an undeclared allergen, this is a Class I product recall.

Photo: CC--the impulsive buyCheerios and Honey Nut Cheerios produced on these dates at the company’s Lodi, California facility are being recalled because an isolated incident resulted in wheat flour being inadvertently introduced into the gluten free oat flour system at its Lodi facility. As a result, the products may contain an undeclared allergen – wheat – in products labeled as gluten-free.

General Mills will recall and retrieve affected cereals produced on those dates from customer warehouses and store shelves. Consumers with wheat allergies, celiac disease or gluten intolerance should not consume products bearing the affected code dates and should contact General Mills for a replacement or full refund. 

This voluntary recall includes four days production of original (yellow box) Cheerios, and thirteen days of production ofHoney Nut Cheerios at its Lodi, California facility with the following “BETTER IF USED BY” code dates and the plant code LD which indicates the product was produced at Lodi, California:

Ads by Google:

Honey Nut Cheerios Honey Nut Cheerios Honey Nut Cheerios  Yellow Box Cheerios
12JUL2016LD
13JUL2016LD
14JUL2016LD
15JUL2016LD
16JUL2016LD
17JUL2016LD
18JUL2016LD
20JUL2016LD
21JUL2016LD
22JUL2016LD
23JUL2016LD
24JUL2016LD
25JUL2016LD 
14JUL2016LD
15JUL2016LD
16JUL2016LD
17JUL2016LD

Products containing wheat can cause illness or severe reactions for individuals with wheat allergies or celiac disease.  Products containing wheat can also cause illness or discomfort for individuals with gluten intolerance.

General Mills is transitioning five varieties of Cheerios to gluten free. Cheerios and Honey Nut Cheerios cereals produced at General Mills’ other facilities, or on dates other than those noted at the Lodi, California facility, are not impacted. General Mills’ other gluten-free Cheerios varieties – including Apple Cinnamon Cheerios, Frosted Cheerios and MultiGrain Cheerios – are not impacted and are not being recalled. No other General Mills cereals are affected. 

Consumers requesting refunds or calling with further questions should contact General Mills Consumer Services at 1-800-775-8370. 

Source:

As always, Celiac.com welcomes your comments (see below).


Spread The Word







1 Response:

 
said this on
30 Nov 2015 10:08:21 PM PDT
I am extremely intolerant of gluten and was affected by this recall. I was suffering severe abdominal pain not knowing that the "gluten free" Cheerios I had bought were the culprit. I was 3/4 of the way through the box before the recall was announced. I returned my box for a refund but am still suffering the consequences of eating them. General Mills has lost my trust: I do not plan to ever buy their gluten free products again.




Leave a reply:
Your Name *: Email (private) *:




In Celiac.com's Forum Now:


Thanks, I appreciate the insight. I will just play it safe and stop eating that type of granola bar. If you have any other advice or comments I would love to hear it. Thanks so much!

Some of that brand are gluten-free , but they will say they are. Some of their bars are not gluten-free because they do not use gluten-free oats. If you are eating non- gluten-free oats or products made with them, there is a possibility that some are actually gluten-free and som...

I know. this will be my first celiac diagnosed halloween. ever where I go I see kit kats which were my favorite. I plan to get some m&m for myself. I still hear from people that 1 won't hurt you, but they don't understand .

Hey, I have a sensitivity to gluten, and I have been gluten free for a while. Today I started having a terrible cramp that I?ve learned I only get when I have had something with gluten in it. Recently I?ve eaten a nature valley whole grain granola bar, I wasn?t sure when I began eating them ...

Thank you! I?ll Get retested.