No popular authors found.
Ads by Google:

Categories

No categories found.




Get Celiac.com's E-Newsletter





Ads by Google:


Questions? Join Our Forum:
~1 Million Posts
& Over 66,000 Members!



SHARE THIS PAGE:
Celiac.com Sponsors:

Herr Foods Announces Recall of Sour Cream & Onion Potato Chips Marked Gluten-Free, but Contain Gluten

Herr Foods Inc. has initiated a voluntary recall of certain bags of its 1.875 oz. Sour Cream & Onion Potato Chip due to a packaging error that incorrectly states that the product is gluten free.

While the back panel of the package complies with U.S. Food & Drug Administration (FDA) label regulations by listing "Wheat" in the ingredient statement as well as "Contains Wheat" in its related allergen statement, the front panel of the package erroneously features the words "Gluten Free." Gluten is the protein that naturally occurs in wheat, rye, barley, and crossbreeds of these grains. Most people can eat gluten, but in people with celiac disease, gluten intake gradually damages the intestines, prevents the absorption of vitamins and minerals, and can lead to other health problems. Symptoms can include diarrhea, fatigue, headaches, abdominal pain, brain fog, rashes, nausea, vomiting, and other reactions. Herr's has not received any reported illnesses to date.

Herr's Sour Cream & Onion Potato Chips, 1.875 oz. bags only, were distributed nationwide through retail stores, distributors, and internet sales. These products were sold as individual bags. No other bag sizes of Herr's Sour Cream & Onion Chips are involved with this recall. No other Herr's products are involved with this recall.

Ads by Google:

RECALLED PRODUCT

  • 1.875 oz. Herr's Sour Cream
    & Onion Potato Chips
    • Date code: January 02, 2016, up to and
      including January 30, 2016
    • UPC: 72600 00061

The packages are a green metallic color bag with a red Herr's logo at the top center of the package. The lot number is located at the upper right hand corner on the front of the package below the statement "Guaranteed Fresh Until". The UPC number is located at the lower right hand corner of the back panel of the package.

Herr Foods announced the recall to prevent consumers who are allergic or sensitive to gluten from consuming this product. Consumers with wheat allergies, celiac disease or gluten intolerance should not consume them and should return them to the retailer where they were purchased for a full refund. Herr Foods and other retailers are removing recalled product from the retailers' shelves. As a result, consumers can be assured that all other Herr's products that remain on-shelf are safe and not subject to this recall. Consumers with questions may call 1-800-523-5030. Live assistance is available 9am-5pm EST, Monday thru Friday.

As always, Celiac.com welcomes your comments (see below).


Podcast

iTunes Podcast Feed or download just this file.


If you don't use iTunes, copy the following link into your Podcast software to subscribe to the Podcast: https://www.celiac.com/blogrss.php?podcastonly=1

Spread The Word







Comments




Leave a reply:
Your Name *: Email (private) *:




In Celiac.com's Forum Now:


Did you eat the corn right at the farm? Was it removed from the husk and roasted or was it washed? I cannot tolerate GMO corn and get very sick with ANY pesticides, especially Round Up. Something to think about.

A new study shows that activation of IRF1 and IRF1-regulated genes together, both directly and via the interleukin-18 dependent inflammasome, would greatly increase the severity of the inflammatory response. Celiac disease is a chronic inflammatory disease of the small intestine mucosa due to p...

Restaurant dining and the staff knowledge is frustrating. I already know that they know nothing, lol. They think they do - but they don't. They think that if they aren't dumping flour on it, then it must be gluten free. I have a couple places in town that I eat, and get the same thing. About...

How did you transition from coloring to natural gray?? It seems like a mystery to me! (Sorry OT)

Sounds like food poisoning. Is this the same or similar reaction you get to CC? Did any of your family have it too? Who cooked it? Did you ask them what they used to prepare it? Was it cooked on a grill alone or in the husk? What else was cooked at the same time?