No popular authors found.
Ads by Google:

Categories

No categories found.




Get Celiac.com's E-Newsletter





Ads by Google:



Follow / Share


  FOLLOW US:
Twitter Facebook Google Plus Pinterest RSS Podcast Email  Get Email Alerts

SHARE:

Popular Articles

No popular articles found.
Celiac.com Sponsors:

Read Your Labels!

The word is out my friends, and gluten-free is slowly but surely oozing its way into everyday conversations, literary articles, and food labels.

But beware! Not all labels are up-to-date. Why, just last night at a baseball game, I happened to glance at a bag of Doritos chips. I had even been told by the company a year ago that the item was gluten free. They looked delicious, but something in my gut (literally) told me to read the ingredient label over once more just to make sure everything was ok. And low and behold! Right there, WHEAT FLOUR.
Ads by Google:

Ah! Well, I cannot say how fortunate I was to read the label. I gave myself a little pat on the back for my wise choice. But while I was disappointed that I could not eat Doritos again, I am pleased to note that I have found many other mainstream items that label themselves officially gluten-free.
Here are just some of what can be found in your local grocery store:

Yoplait 99% Fat Free Yogurt
French's mustard
Best Foods Mayonnaise
Babybel cheese
Rice Chex
...these were the only things I bought at the store the other day, but there are more items to come!

As always, Celiac.com welcomes your comments (see below).


Spread The Word







9 Responses:

 
Tina

said this on
11 Jun 2008 6:20:33 PM PDT
I am under the impression that Cool Ranch Doritos are okay, is that the flavor you had? I knew that the Nacho Cheese had Gluten in the cheese powder. Please clarify... thanks!

 
Katie Nelson
( Author)
said this on
16 Jun 2008 11:00:58 AM PDT
Hello Tina. Thank you for alerting me as to which Doritos to verify are NOT gluten free. The Nacho Cheese Doritos recipe has been changed so that they are not longer available for Celiacs to have. Hope that clears up your question.

Thanks so much.

 
Katie Nelson
( Author)
said this on
21 Jun 2008 8:54:26 PM PDT
Hi Nancy. Wheat free soy sauce is fine for Celiacs. Restaurants such as PF Chang's even offer gluten-free soy sauce for those with gluten intolerance. As far as soy products go, there are those who are both Celiacs and have soy intolerance. However, you can have one and not have the other. Generally, soy products are perfectly acceptable for Celiacs. But be careful!

 
Katie Nelson
( Author)
said this on
21 Jun 2008 8:57:03 PM PDT
Generally speaking, Yoplait is gluten free. However, if the name of the yogurt appears to have 'cookie' or 'crust' or 'cake' in it, then you know that it will most likely bother Celiacs. Always remember, that no matter how many times you have eaten a certain product, always read your labels. Product recipes are constantly changing, and it is up to the Celiac consumer to stay safe and gluten-free.

 
Kristen

said this on
01 Jul 2008 5:13:02 PM PDT
I always hear that PF Chang's is accommodating, but when I was still starting an avoidance diet to figure it out, they had no idea what gluten was and I wound up bent over with cramps after eating it! I would have thought in Stanford they would be pretty aware!!!

 
Katie Nelson
( Author)
said this on
02 Jul 2008 8:23:56 AM PDT
Hi Kristen. That is very odd that Stanford's PF Chang's would not be aware of gluten, considering that the college has its own Celiac disease department!

I was there back in January '08, and I had no problem whatsoever with ordering gluten free. I am wondering if you had a new server or someone in training. When were you at their establishment? More importantly, have you called to tell them your experience? They are very concerned about customer relations, and I am hopeful that they can get you sorted out.

 
Sandy

said this on
08 Jul 2008 5:47:11 AM PDT
I'm concerned about flavor extracts - I've been told any that contain alcohol are unsafe, as alcohol contains gluten. McCormick's says all their extracts, including Pure Vanilla are gluten-free. Would you take the chance?

 
Katie Nelson
( Author)
said this on
11 Jul 2008 5:28:45 PM PDT
Sandy, anything that says 'pure' literally means that that extract is simply extract. Avoid anything with the word 'imitation' in it. However, pure vanilla, almond, peppermint, strawberry, etc. extract should be acceptable. The alcohol is distilled, so there are no traces of gluten left. The alcohol helps to preserve the flavor of the extract. Overall, it should be safe. If you are still unsure, I suggest you contact McCormick's directly, as they should be able to help you with your concern. May I say, though, that I have used McCormick in the past, and I have been fine!

 
chris

said this on
13 Sep 2008 2:05:12 PM PDT
On the Dorritos topic, you CAN have the 'spicy nacho' flavor of Dorritos as well as the cool ranch! Spicy nacho actually tastes a lot better than original too.




Leave a reply:
Your Name *: Email (private) *:




In Celiac.com's Forum Now:

All Activity
Celiac.com Celiac Disease & Gluten-Free Diet Forum - All Activity

you're lucky you dont catch colds. im the opposite i catch everything very easily and get alot sicker than whoever i caught it from and take much longer to get better.

Even one positive can be diagnostic. This is one: Gliadin deamidated peptide IgG 33.9. If unsure, a biopsy of the small intestine will provide definite confirmation. There is a control test to validate the other ones, but I don't see it there. What is does is validate the others by checking on the overall antibody levels. But it is to detect possible false negatives. A positive is a positive. I think your daughter has joined our club.

My daughter, almost 7 years old, recently had a lot of blood work done, her Dr is out of the office, but another Dr in the practice said everything looked normal. I'm waiting for her Dr to come back and see what she thinks. I'm concerned because there is one abnormal result and I can't find info to tell me if just that one test being abnormal means anything. The reason for the blood work is mainly because of her poor growth, though she does have some other symptoms. IgA 133 mg/dl Reference range 33-200 CRP <2.9 same as reference range Gliadin Deamidated Peptide IgA .4 Reference range <=14.9 Gliadin deamidated peptide IgG 33.9 Reference range <=14.9 TTG IgA .5 Reference range <=14.9 TTG IgG <.8 Reference range <=14.9

Just watch out. I just went to the expo in Schaumburg, IL, and ended up getting glutened. I realized afterward that I ate all these samples thinking they were gluten free, and they weren't. One company was advertising some sugar, and had made some cake, but then I realized.... How do I know if this contains any other ingredients that might have gluten? Did they make it with a blender or utensils that had gluten contamination? Makes me realize the only safe things would be packaged giveaways with gluten free labeling. My fault for not thinking things through. It was just too exciting thinking i could try it all and enjoy without worry.

No fasting required for a celiac blood test unless they were checking your blood glucose levels during the same blood draw.