No popular authors found.

Get's E-Newsletter


No categories found.

Ads by Google:

Questions? Join Our Forum:
~1 Million Posts
& Over 66,000 Members!


Strawberry update

I have not yet gotten an answer to the question " Are strawberries grown in wheat straw gluten free. I have asked my local Chapter of the Dept. of Agriculture to
Ads by Google:

look into the question. However, I have found that the surface coating of gluten can be removed with Vege Wash that you can buy at your local grocer.

As always, welcomes your comments (see below).

Spread The Word

6 Responses:


said this on
23 Jun 2008 8:38:38 AM PST
I have celiac disease too! You can have strawberries. I have never used the vegetable wash and just always wash my fruit with water. I have never had a problem with fruit. How are you feeling now since you changed your diet. You can have a lot of anxiety, with celiac.


said this on
24 Jun 2008 12:36:31 PM PST
I had a similar question about mushrooms that were grown in a rye medium; if they would be gluten-free or not. I e-mailed several professors at UT Austin and they all responded with a longer version of I don't know.
I did some research on my own and discovered that the mushrooms actually grow on top of the rye and do not root at all, so they are considered gluten free with a risk of cross-contamination.
As for plants that actually grow through the soil and absorb from the soil they might get some gluten in there, but as long as the plant itself does not contain gluten the amount should be too minute to tell.
However, everyone's tolerance level is different and if you have a reaction to something, that's a good reason to not eat it anymore.


said this on
26 Jun 2008 6:25:34 PM PST
How do you adapt a Gluten Free diet into a Weight Watchers plan? Other than eating lots of fruits and vegetables and drinking lots of water, which I know to do. Weight Watchers uses calories, fat grams and fiber for calculation. Some of the gluten free products I get from a gluten-free bakery don't have these things listed. Any suggestions? Thank you.


said this on
07 Jul 2008 12:35:05 PM PST
Hello, I was just diagnosed last week with Celiac...and I feel overwhelmed with my grocery list....I wonder if it OK to eat beef, and poultry that the animals were 'grain' fed?

Nancy Everett

said this on
18 Jul 2008 3:07:25 PM PST
You have got to be kidding me. I am recently diagnosed and my sweetheart is Italian as are most of our friends. This has been a real problem for me and now your talking about strawberries, mushrooms and meat products that were grain fed. Can this get any worse?


said this on
20 Jul 2008 8:01:18 AM PST
I was wondering too if animals fed on feeds with gluten are ok or not to eat. So far I have been told lots of different answers. I am unsure about Strawberries now - are they safe to eat or not. There really needs to be a place with safe information for Celiacs to get info about this stuff, and the stores own label don't have to have allergy advice about this which is wrong! I can't even buy a packet of peanuts from my local store because I've been told they are packed in a factory with gluten/wheat! We need clearer allergy advice about this.

Leave a reply:
Your Name *: Email (private) *:

In's Forum Now:

Hi Matt, Thanks for taking the time to reply! I completely agree haha. Thanks for the links - I'll give them a read over! I think it was a mixture of the first time travelling with being gluten-free and the added bonus of the language barrier, it made me dread meal times when u...

Gluten is a protein smaller then blood,bleach does not kill it as it is not a germ. I would replace scratched pans. baking dishes, tubaware, wooden utensils, colanders, etc. Throw out crumby condiment jars and any non gluten-free spices and condiments. Cast Iron can be saved and some metal utensi...

It sounds like your hives resolved. I had a six month bout with them. Antihistamines really helped. My doctors are not sure if Mast Cell or autoimmune is the root cause.

My kid has Raynauds. It freaks her classmates out. She wears shoes and wool socks all year round and we live in a warm state. It is autoimmune. She manages it by layering, turning up the heat, use lots of blanket throws. I have Hashimoto?s and celiac disease. So, having multiple autoi...

Well, you do need to replace some things because they are too porous or damaged to remove gluten. Things like old wooden spoons, scratched non-stick pans, toaster, colander, sponges, etc. Honestly, the list is long, so try getting a few celiac books at the library or Amazon. Consider reading t...