Jump to content
  • Sign Up

NewMom's Blog

  • entry
    1
  • comments
    22
  • views
    63,641

Is All Wine Gluten Free?

NewMom

65,047 views

I was wondering if someone could help me. I am still learning about the do's and don'ts of this disease and thought that all wine was gluten free. Last night I had two glasses of Yellow Tail chardonney and woke up at 12:30 AM in so much pain I actually vomitted. This is not the first time that I have had this reaction to wine. Can someone tell me if there are only specific types of wine I can drink? Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks!



22 Comments


Recommended Comments

The list on the link below says that all wines are gluten-free. Maybe it was something that you [i]ate[/i] with the wine that made you sick?

[url="https://www.celiac.com/articles/222/1/Gluten-Free-Alcoholic-Beverages/Page1.html"]https://www.celiac.com/articles/222/1/Glute...ages/Page1.html[/url]

Share this comment


Link to comment
Thanks for the link.
The only thing that I ate with the wine was Michael Season's Gluten Free Cheddar Cheese Curls. The product backs the fact that they are gluten free.
Sometimes I feel like this is such a guessing game!

[quote name='Mosaics' date='Nov 7 2007, 09:46 AM']The list on the link below says that all wines are gluten-free. Maybe it was something that you [i]ate[/i] with the wine that made you sick?

[url="https://www.celiac.com/articles/222/1/Gluten-Free-Alcoholic-Beverages/Page1.html"][url="https://www.celiac.com/articles/222/1/Glute...ages/Page1.html"]https://www.celiac.com/articles/222/1/Glute...ages/Page1.html[/url][/url][/quote]

Share this comment


Link to comment
[quote name='Mosaics' date='Nov 7 2007, 06:46 AM']The list on the link below says that all wines are gluten-free. Maybe it was something that you [i]ate[/i] with the wine that made you sick?

[url="https://www.celiac.com/articles/222/1/Gluten-Free-Alcoholic-Beverages/Page1.html"]https://www.celiac.com/articles/222/1/Glute...ages/Page1.html[/url][/quote]

I too had 3 glasses of Yellow Tail wine a couple of days ago and I too became so sick, vomitting, for three days! It was really really weird, I was very mystified by my reaction to the wine. I feel there is some colour or flavouring in the wine. This is not my usual reaction to wine, as I also had 3 glasses of wine the week before, with absolutely no reaction.

Share this comment


Link to comment
I know this is an old thread, but I was browsing, looking to see about gluten free wines, and came across your question.

I just wanted to say about wine, tonight I made stew and used red wine in the sauce. I had no more than finished eating than my stomach started to feel nauseated, and I ended up in the bathroom with the most painful cramps.........lasted four hours. The ONLY thing that I had in that stew that was in question was the wine. So I looked it up, and it says all wine is gluten free. Then in another place I found that yeast is made of barley and there is yeast in wine my husband says. also I read that the barrels might not be gluten free, and last, they sometimes use additives. All I know is, I had a terrible reaction from the wine, and on the bottle they did not list even ONE ingredient, not even the word grape was on the bottle. So I have no idea what was in the wine.....

Share this comment


Link to comment
I've looked at several sites and posts about wines....I'm new to the gluten-free diet and am just starting to figure things out. When I found out that some hard ciders were not gluten free, I decided to check out the wines too....

Nea, I really appreciated your post - especially the info about the barley, barrels and such. Consequently I emailed Carlo Rossi, inc...they just happened to be the makers of the wine in my current wine box . Their response is posted below. Because of the above posts, the letter from Carlo Rossi, and that Yellow Tail is an Australian wine brand, I've come to the conclusion that US wines are most likely gluten free, but imported varietals may not be worth the risk. The next time I visit my local wineries I'll be certain to ask some detailed questions!

Cheers!

Here's the email from Carlo Rossi:

"Thank you for contacting us. We appreciate your interest in Carlo Rossi Winery.

In response to your inquiry, all of the wines and champagnes produced by E. & J. Gallo Winery in the United States are in compliance with the Food and Drug Administration

Share this comment


Link to comment
i know this post is REALLY old but isn't there a (seemingly) new discovery of the sulfites in wine making some people sick? i think i've now seen sulfite-free wine, or at least they list "contains sulfites" on some labels...

Share this comment


Link to comment
I'm so glad I came across this post as I am trying to figure out the wine issue when it comes to gluten and my allergy. I know that many websites will say that all wine is most likely gluten free, but "most-likely" doesn't do it for me. I am about one week into my gluten-free diet and had a glass of Mark West Pinot Noir which immediately made me sick. I contacted them and they provided the following response:

Hi Chris,

This is the best answer I could get for you.

Most of our wine is not made here as we purchase some wine from other
companies and mix them here to create our own wine. TTB is a government
agency that does not allow wine producers to add gluten to wines but
that does not guarantee that gluten has not been added to the wine we
use. We cannot confirm whether or not those wines have been stored in
barrels that were sealed with a flour paste and we do not test the wine
itself for any gluten so we do not have any way of knowing if our wines
contain gluten or not.

I hope this helps somewhat.

Thank you,

Monica

So, the jury seems to be out here, which doesn't make me feel good since I'm going to Italy for my honeymoon. Maybe I am having these reactions since I am still in the early recovery stages, but would welcome anyone else's experiences.

Thanks!

Share this comment


Link to comment
Today I found out that wheat flour caulked barrels is not the only possible gluten contamination of wine. Some wineries add to the wine something called a "fining agent" to clarify and stabilize the wine. Wheat gluten isolate is one of the fining agents that is sometimes used! I think we need to develop a list of wineries that NEITHER use such caulked barrels, NOR a wheat gluten isolate fining agent!

Share this comment


Link to comment
FYI - see YellowTail website on the gluten content of their wines - they say that their wine is [b]not [/b]gluten free.[url="http://www.yellowtailwine.com/roo-facts-amp-faq"]http://www.yellowtailwine.com/roo-facts-amp-faq[/url]

Share this comment


Link to comment
I looked at the Yellow Tail web site today and it says they ARE gluten free. I looked three times just to make sure I was not seeing things. Does anyone know if they have changed something to make them gluten free?

Share this comment


Link to comment
[quote name='Mosaics' date='07 November 2007 - 06:46 AM']
The list on the link below says that all wines are gluten-free. Maybe it was something that you [i]ate[/i] with the wine that made you sick?

[url="https://www.celiac.com/articles/222/1/Gluten-Free-Alcoholic-Beverages/Page1.html"]https://www.celiac.com/articles/222/1/Glute...ages/Page1.html[/url]
[/quote]
Austrailian Chardonnay. Have not found one that does not make me feel "glutenized"/as in terrible. Yellow Tail and McWillams are the two i have problems with. Have not tried any others. Not worth it.

Share this comment


Link to comment

I know this is a really old post but has there been any new developments in this area?

I am new to the gluten free world and last night I had a glass of my favourite wine (Riunite Bianco) and I got really sick and was still sick when I woke up. I just emailed the company and will post when I get a response, but wanted to know if there are some guaranteed gluten free wines?

 

-Ashley 

Share this comment


Link to comment
47 minutes ago, Abungay said:

I know this is a really old post but has there been any new developments in this area?

I am new to the gluten free world and last night I had a glass of my favourite wine (Riunite Bianco) and I got really sick and was still sick when I woke up. I just emailed the company and will post when I get a response, but wanted to know if there are some guaranteed gluten free wines?

 

-Ashley 

Most wines are gluten free, the introduction to gluten from them comes from the cask in most cases, where some companies still use wheat pastes as glue. This is only true in some wines and very few still use this practice. In most cases you find with the damage to your intestines you become more sensitive to sulfites, acids, and alcohols.  The last wine I had a sip of with no issues from gluten was BareFoot Pink moscato, That was a bit over a year ago. I cook with rums normally like admiral nelsons and bacardi which are made form sugar cane molasses and gluten free. Other hard liquors like pure agave taquilia and non grain based vodkas are also safe. I recently started using Austin East ciders in cooking and they are all gluten free.

Share this comment


Link to comment
On 11/7/2007 at 6:46 PM, Mosaics said:

The list on the link below says that all wines are gluten-free. Maybe it was something that you ate with the wine that made you sick?

https://www.celiac.com/articles/222/1/Glute...ages/Page1.html

Not true. I have used a variety of Barefoot wines with the screw caps and I had been fine. When I used the exact same brand with the cork, I had a really bad reaction. All Yellow Tail wines also give me bad reactions.

Share this comment


Link to comment

There isn’t any evidence that corks would contain gluten, or wine for that matter. Even if the barrels are made in the traditional way the wines don’t contain gluten.  The very last thing any wine producer would want would be wheat paste sediment floating around in there wine!  

Share this comment


Link to comment
2 hours ago, admin said:

There isn’t any evidence that corks would contain gluten, or wine for that matter. Even if the barrels are made in the traditional way the wines don’t contain gluten.  The very last thing any wine producer would want would be wheat paste sediment floating around in there wine!  

Just to add to this - Barefoot is a cheap wine.  It isn't made in barrels.  If it actually has a cork, I bet its one of those plastic ones.  Of course a real cork wouldn't have gluten - its cork.

Edited by kareng

Share this comment


Link to comment

So what explains my reaction? The Barefoot wine that caused my gluten intolerance reaction did have a cork but it was not plastic (came from a tree) - I had a really hard time getting it off, but most do have metal caps that screw on and off. As I said before, those seem to be fine. There have been other wines that friends have given me that also caused reactions with my body similar to the type that I get when I consume something with wheat in it. Not really sure if those wines were 'cheap' as you propose. In my country, they are not.

Share this comment


Link to comment

 

Maybe it was a different type of wine that had a real cork? IF that is the case, there are things like tannins and nitrates that can effect  people.  The amounts can be different by, not just type of wine but by vineyard.  But there is no gluten in plain wine or corks.

Share this comment


Link to comment

I have both Celiac's (diagnosed), and wheat allergy, am O- blood type, half Irish, and have radical B12 deficiency flareups/ anemia, so still eat red meat once a week or salmon. I have known since I was a small child that breads did not agree with me and so have chosen not to eat much grains my whole life. I was literally forced to 'eat everything' before leaving the table and STILL have problems with family members who believe such a condition can exist. My husband was all the same, but didn't know until his later stages of Lymphocytic Leukemia and was tested at the University of Chicago where they have a new program specifically for Celiac's. I can't tolerate reds or most whites these days. I got so foggy brained immediately and then have diarrhea and sometimes vomiting. (once each- I'm not a particularly slow learner : ) 

My husband took quite a few wine classes in his day. He says that 'most' Pinot Grigio's are made in stainless steel casks and so eliminate 'most' tannins (vs oak casks) and sulphates are much lower if French or Italian. If the Pinot has any yellow color best to not even try as it usually means it was made in an Oak cask or has a grain yeast. I have good luck with Chloe Pinot Grigio which is bottled is a US company but 'most' is made in Italy (will say on label.)

I also can enjoy two Rose' also from France- Miraval ($20-30) and (which are tannin and sulfite free) and La Vieille Ferme ($6.99)

If you want to be REALLY safe it seems high grade tequilas are the least risky. I've even learned to make a cucumber margarita one with date sugar and that IS about the best bet, for me, of all alcoholic beverages. 

Those are just my personal experiences. It sounds like I'm quite a drinker, but to the contrary- I have a glass of wine on special occasions or with guests, and a few margarita's in the course of a summer. Like I say, I've had this condition my whole life and am currently 62.

Share this comment


Link to comment
29 minutes ago, TLCummins-Jamison said:

I have both Celiac's (diagnosed), and wheat allergy, am O- blood type, half Irish, and have radical B12 deficiency flareups/ anemia, so still eat red meat once a week or salmon. I have known since I was a small child that breads did not agree with me and so have chosen not to eat much grains my whole life. I was literally forced to 'eat everything' before leaving the table and STILL have problems with family members who believe such a condition can exist. My husband was all the same, but didn't know until his later stages of Lymphocytic Leukemia and was tested at the University of Chicago where they have a new program specifically for Celiac's. I can't tolerate reds or most whites these days. I got so foggy brained immediately and then have diarrhea and sometimes vomiting. (once each- I'm not a particularly slow learner : ) 

My husband took quite a few wine classes in his day. He says that 'most' Pinot Grigio's are made in stainless steel casks and so eliminate 'most' tannins (vs oak casks) and sulphates are much lower if French or Italian. If the Pinot has any yellow color best to not even try as it usually means it was made in an Oak cask or has a grain yeast. I have good luck with Chloe Pinot Grigio which is bottled is a US company but 'most' is made in Italy (will say on label.)

I also can enjoy two Rose' also from France- Miraval ($20-30) and (which are tannin and sulfite free) and La Vieille Ferme ($6.99)

If you want to be REALLY safe it seems high grade tequilas are the least risky. I've even learned to make a cucumber margarita one with date sugar and that IS about the best bet, for me, of all alcoholic beverages. 

Those are just my personal experiences. It sounds like I'm quite a drinker, but to the contrary- I have a glass of wine on special occasions or with guests, and a few margarita's in the course of a summer. Like I say, I've had this condition my whole life and am currently 62.

Amusingly few points this brings up"
1. If your still B12 deficient look up KAL Nutritional Yeast, and just use it as a condiment or make cheese sauces with it. Liquid Health has blends like Stress & Energy and Neurological support as many B-vitamins work together, Or they sell a plain B12 sublingual you can add to a drink.
2. Tequilas made from agave and normally grain free and considered safe will be going up in prices soon, international agave shortage has led to a 6 fold increase in agave prices and will soon effect the store bought agave, and tequila market.
3. Rum is also considered safe and cheap made from sugar cane.

Thanks for you input on it, I was just thinking of using a wine in a bit of cooking to add splash of flavor to saute greens this week. A pinot would be great if I recall that is a sweet/tart with notes of citrus will be interesting to see....I think great for finish deglaze of a white fish skillet cooked in a butter flavored coconut oil over wilted greens.
 

Share this comment


Link to comment
Guest
Add a comment...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

×
×
  • Create New...