Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate
    1. calliedw

      calliedw

  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com:
    Donate
  • About Me

    Scott Adams

    Scott Adams was diagnosed with celiac disease in 1994, and, due to the nearly total lack of information available at that time, was forced to become an expert on the disease in order to recover. In 1995 he launched the site that later became Celiac.com to help as many people as possible with celiac disease get diagnosed so they can begin to live happy, healthy gluten-free lives.  He is co-author of the book Cereal Killers, and founder and publisher of the (formerly paper) newsletter Journal of Gluten Sensitivity. In 1998 he founded The Gluten-Free Mall which he sold in 2014. Celiac.com does not sell any products, and is 100% advertiser supported.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A17):
    Celiac.com Sponsor (A17):





    Celiac.com Sponsors (A17-M):




  • Related Articles

    Jefferson Adams
    Which Alcoholic Beverages Are Safe for Celiacs?
    Celiac.com 02/22/2020 - We get a lot of questions about which alcoholic beverages are gluten-free and safe for people with celiac disease. The safest answer is that alcohol that is brewed or distilled using no gluten ingredients and which is labeled gluten-free is the safest bet. That said, the actual answer is more complex. 
    According to the American Dietetic Association (ADA) all distilled spirits are gluten-free, that is, there is no gluten in the final product of any distilled alcohol. ADA guidelines indicate that all 100% distilled spirits are safe, including whiskey, bourbon and gin. 
    Also, some people with celiac disease claim to be sensitive to distilled alcohols made with grains, while many tolerate them just fine. The solution is to know your alcohol. Beware of a...


    Jefferson Adams
    Fifteen Common Questions About Gluten-Free Alcohol and Booze
    Celiac.com 09/16/2019 - Here are some of the most common questions we get about gluten-free alcoholic beverages.
    Gluten-Free Distilled Alcohols
    Unless gluten is added after distillation, all distilled alcohols are free of gluten. However, under US labeling law, beverages made from ingredients containing wheat, rye, or barley, cannot be labeled or advertised as 'gluten-free.'So, when you do see a 'gluten-free' label on a distilled beverage, it means that no gluten ingredients have been used at any point in the production process. You'll find an extensive list of gluten-free alcohol, booze and liquor here.
    Gluten Sensitivity Can Vary
    Many people with celiac disease and gluten sensitivity can tolerate whiskey, gin and other liquor distilled from grains, but many...


    Scott Adams
    FDA Rules All Distilled Alcohol is Gluten-Free
    Celiac.com 08/19/2020 - The US Food and Drug Administration (FDA) has ruled that distilled foods and spirits made from gluten-containing grains can be labelled as ‘gluten-free.’ The FDA ruling covers fermented and distilled foods, or foods that contain fermented or distilled ingredients, which are made using gluten-containing grains such as rye, barley and wheat. The ruling changes the previous FDA requirement that distilled products labeled "gluten-free" must contain no gluten ingredients from start to finish.
    The change was hailed by Chris Swonger, president and CEO of the the Distilled Spirits Council of the United States (Discus), who said: “We commend FDA for this consumer-friendly ruling that will allow ‘gluten-free’ labelling claims to be included on distilled foods made from...


    Scott Adams
    Kahlúa and Other Top Gluten-Free Coffee Liqueurs
    Celiac.com 01/22/2021 - We get a lot of questions about alcohol, and one we've seen a lot is about coffee liqueurs, like Kahlúa. We actually did an article specifically on Kahlúa, but those answers apply equally well to any of these brands of coffee liqueurs. 
    While we don't know of any other brands of coffee liqueur that are specifically labeled "Gluten-Free," all of the top brands we've looked at are made without gluten-ingredients, and none list wheat as an allergen. As always, read labels, and avoid anything that you're not sure about.
    That said, Kahlúa, and these other top brands of coffee liqueur can be considered gluten-free, and safe for people with celiac disease. A few, like Mr Black Cold Brew Coffee Liqueur, are even labeled gluten-free: 
    Allen's Coffee Brand...


  • Recent Activity

    1. - ChrisSeth replied to ChrisSeth's topic in Celiac Disease Pre-Diagnosis, Testing & Symptoms
      5

      Waiting on Blood test results…

    2. - ChrisSeth replied to ChrisSeth's topic in Celiac Disease Pre-Diagnosis, Testing & Symptoms
      5

      Waiting on Blood test results…

    3. - trents replied to Jason Hi's topic in Doctors
      7

      Need Advice on Doctors

    4. - Jason Hi replied to Jason Hi's topic in Doctors
      7

      Need Advice on Doctors

    5. - ChrisSeth replied to ChrisSeth's topic in Celiac Disease Pre-Diagnosis, Testing & Symptoms
      5

      Waiting on Blood test results…


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,392
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    alexaceliac
    Newest Member
    alexaceliac
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.1k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Popular Now

    • Jason Hi
      7
    • ChrisSeth
      5
    • Philly224
      15
    • Lynnard
    • Morgan Tiernan
  • Popular Articles

    • Scott Adams
    • Scott Adams
    • Scott Adams
    • Scott Adams
    • Scott Adams
  • Upcoming Events

×
×
  • Create New...