Jump to content
  • Sign Up
gancan

Werther's Original Products

Rate this topic

Recommended Posts

Do any of the Werther’s Original products contain wheat based ingredients or gluten?

All Werther’s Original products are suitable for a gluten-free diet. They do include glucose syrup, which may be derived from a wheat source. The Coeliac society states that glucose syrup sourced from wheat is suitable for the inclusion in a gluten-free diet.

 

I was trying to look up Werther's caramel hard candies to see if they are gluten free and this was the response on the web site... which left me confused, so does this mean they are ok??

 

Thanks!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

tigbes,

Welcome! Thanks for the update on the Werther's, but what was posted here over three years ago was true then.  Many food businesses have come a long way in more accurate reporting of gluten free products. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Sounds like they are gluten free they just don't want to label them that way.  Glucose syrup is gluten-free, even if it started as wheat ( which is what the post about the coelic Society.)

 

in in the US, it will say something like glucose syrup ( wheat) so you can avoid it if you would like to.  I usually do, just because it's easier for me.

Edited by kareng

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...