Jump to content
  • Sign Up

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

stormbind

Whole Earth Peanut Butter (Palm Oil)

Recommended Posts

I'm Gluten and Casein** intolerant, and I'm asking about this product:

 

Name: Whole Earth Crunchy Original

Ingredients: Roasted Peanuts (97%), Palm Oil*, Sea Salt.

Allergy Advice: Contains peanuts. May also contain nuts.

Source: www.wholeearthfoods.com (Surrey, UK)

* palm oil sourced from RSPO members

 

Each time I have try this peanut butter, I suffer reactions reminiscent of gluten! I searched to see if Palm Oil contains anything similar to Gluten, and came to the following page: modified palm oil is not gluten free!

 

What is the difference in palm oil, and modified palm oil? Has anyone else had gluten-trouble with palm oil, peanut butter, or Whole Earth Foods?

 

Thanks! :)

 

** Gluten and Casein are structurally very similar, and there might be other proteins that I need to avoid *sigh*

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

First - how would something that come only from a Palm plant have gluten which comes from wheat, rye or barley?     "Modified palm oil is not naturally gluten free"  :wacko:

 

Second- your link is not a "reliable" source. 

 

Gluten and casein are not structually similiar.  Please read some reputable sites, not just internet "doctors" trying to take your money.

 

It is possible that peanut butter or palm oil or any other food bothers you and has nothing to do with gluten.  I don't know why, but capers bother me.  Every time I eat a dish with them I get gluten-like bloating and stomach pains and gas, etc.  Eat the same thing without them & I'm fine.  That does not mean there is gluten in capers, it just means they bother me.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

First - how would something that come only from a Palm plant have gluten which comes from wheat, rye or barley?     "Modified palm oil is not naturally gluten free"  :wacko:

 

Second- your link is not a "reliable" source. 

 

Gluten and casein are not structually similiar.  Please read some reputable sites, not just internet "doctors" trying to take your money.

 

It is possible that peanut butter or palm oil or any other food bothers you and has nothing to do with gluten.  I don't know why, but capers bother me.  Every time I eat a dish with them I get gluten-like bloating and stomach pains and gas, etc.  Eat the same thing without them & I'm fine.  That does not mean there is gluten in capers, it just means they bother me.

 

First issue - I am talking about Gluten. Also, I am not talking about Wheat, Barley or Rye. Gluten is a type of protein found in a large number of cereals including but not limited to the ones you listed (i.e. Spelt).  Each person reacts differently to Gluten, causing Oats to be on the margin of some people's tolerance levels.  Evidence suggests that Gluten is not limited to Wheat, Barley and Rye.

 

Second issue - I joined this forum and started this discussion because the link I found is not a reliable source. Why is that a problem?

 

I don't know how similar Gluten and Casein are, but their similarity has not gone unchallenged and is increasingly causing the two proteins to be treated as one problem; for example Wikipedia, British Dietetic Association, and Celiac.com.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

First issue - I am talking about Gluten. Also, I am not talking about Wheat, Barley or Rye. Gluten is a type of protein found in a large number of cereals including but not limited to the ones you listed (i.e. Spelt).  Each person reacts differently to Gluten, causing Oats to be on the margin of some people's tolerance levels.  Evidence suggests that Gluten is not limited to Wheat, Barley and Rye.

 

Second issue - I joined this forum and started this discussion because the link I found is not a reliable source. Why is that a problem?

 

I don't know how similar Gluten and Casein are, but their similarity has not gone unchallenged and is increasingly causing the two proteins to be treated as one problem; for example Wikipedia, British Dietetic Association, and Celiac.com.

 

 

Glad you realize that link isn't a good source.  it looked like you were saying it was.

 

Spelt is wheat. 

 

Still not sure how a palm plant would contain gluten.

 

This is an old argument on here about the mis-use of the word gluten.  The gluten that Celiacs must avoid is the gluten found in Wheat (and its various names), rye, barley and sometimes oats. 

 

 

http://www.cureceliacdisease.org/archives/faq/is-there-evidence-of-cross-reactivity-such-as-any-foods-that-do-not-contain-gluten-but-cause-gluten-like-reactions-in-the-body

 

http://www.cureceliacdisease.org/archives/faq/does-corn-contain-gluten     I know you didnt ask about corn specifically.

 

http://bidmc.org/Centers-and-Departments/Departments/Digestive-Disease-Center/Celiac-Center/FAQ/Gluten-and-the-Gluten-Free-Diet.aspx#gluten_diff

 

What is the difference between gluten and gliadin?

Gluten is the generic term for the storage protein found in grains. Gluten is what gives dough its elasticity, and allows bread to be leavened. Gliadin is the specific name of the protein found in wheat, and is a type of gluten. Different grains have different names for their specific glutens, but the general term gluten is most commonly used.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'm not entering the gluten/casein debate, but regarding your original question about peanut butter, I don't do well with it in general. The last one I tried was Teddie's because that's all they make. Just peanuts and salt. No other ingredients, and I confirmed with them that it's a gluten free facility (only possible allergens: other nuts and soy). I still, repeatedly, got gas and stomach pains from it, and trouble sleeping. Since I've been able to have other peanuts, I have to consider a possibility of cc at the source, if the peanuts are grown in mixed fields. But it may also be that peanuts are a legume, which overall I have trouble with, and I'm developing more of an intolerance to them. Either way, I've basically given up on peanut butter. I'm going to try Sunbutter next, to see how that goes. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

That's interesting, and scary. I already struggle and I'd have immense difficulty if I developed further allergies.

 

Is there a difference in "modified palm oil" and "palm oil"?  Does it mean GM, or is it processed after harvesting?  The production chain is very difficult to audit, and many products come into contact with gluten, and that contact does not always make it to the final ingredients list.

 

I wondered if Palm Oil was a frequently "contaminated" import, or if perhaps Whole Earth Foods do not operate a gluten-free facility..

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

To answer your initial question, No, I have never had "gluten trouble" from palm oil.

 

It's not likely to be processed in a facility processing wheat. (but if it were, it would likely be indicated on the product label where they have already disclosed an allergy alert about peanuts and nuts)

 

 

Whole Earth Crunchy Original

Ingredients: Roasted Peanuts (97%), Palm Oil*, Sea Salt.

Allergy Advice: Contains peanuts. May also contain nuts.

 

What happens when you eat other peanut butter? I suspect perhaps it is not necessarily the palm oil, but the PB giving you some grief right now?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

×
×
  • Create New...