Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Happyw5

Essential Oils Cross Reaction

I am starting to sell young living (essental oils) and I really want start using them in place of medications and lotions and such.  Just wondering if lemongrass and others would effect me.  Lemongrass comes from grass and wheat is associated with grass.  Am I wrong?  I know that the oils do go through the skin and they effect the cells within 20 minutes.  I am still learning about everything they do, and I guess I don't understand if they would effect me like wheat or gluten would.  Any info you have would be great.  Thanks

I'm confused.  I don't think there should be any problem with lemongrass or oils from plants that aren't wheat, rye or barley.

First - there is no real evidence of "cross-reactivity"

Second- gluten is too large a molecule to go thru the skin assuming they added gluten to it (but aren't you talking about just oil of a plant?)

third - not sure how you can get from Lemongrass to being a form of wheat?  I'm not a botanist, but where do you find info that says that lemongrass is closely "related" in the plant world to wheat?

I'm confused.  I don't think there should be any problem with lemongrass or oils from plants that aren't wheat, rye or barley.

First - there is no real evidence of "cross-reactivity"

Second- gluten is too large a molecule to go thru the skin assuming they added gluten to it (but aren't you talking about just oil of a plant?)

third - not sure how you can get from Lemongrass to being a form of wheat?  I'm not a botanist, but where do you find info that says that lemongrass is closely "related" in the plant world to wheat?