Jump to content
  • Sign Up

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Recommended Posts

Hey all, i was just diagnosed with celiac and was looking at candy and some other foods that contain wheat and or they are processed on things that contain wheat. Such as m&ms they have a pretzel m&ms, have twix and kit kat bars they all contain wheat but they don't say they have wheat in them or that they were processed on the same machines or in the same facility as a facility that processes wheat but they do say contain peanuts or may contain peanuts

Why do candies and other things not have to say contain wheat or may contain wheat? What should I do? I've been staying away from the things that don't have a warning but since not all gluten free items say gluten free then I just read then carefully. Please help me!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

If the candy contains wheat, in the US and Canada and probably other countries, it must state that in the ingredients. There is no rule about labeling if it is made in the same facility or on the same machinery as a wheat containing product. Therefore, pretzel M&Ms, KitKats and Twix do say they have wheat in the ingredients.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The labeling laws do not require allergens to be specified in a separate "Contains ..." warning, only that it be called out in the ingredient list. You always have to read the ingredient list in order to determine if a processed food has gluten.

Labeling laws, iirc - and please someone correct me if I'm wrong - do not require warnings about shared facilities. Some manufacturers include them, some don't.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Wheat is an allergen whose presence must be clearly disclosed in the US and Canada. It may be done by listing it in the ingredients, or in a contains statement. Many companies do both, but that is not a requirement. The word "wheat" must appear, although it may appear in conjunction with a more specific term. The absence of a "contains" statement does not mean allergen-free, as the allergen can be listed in the ingredients.

 

Disclosure of shared facilities or shared lines is voluntary in both countries.

 

Canadian rules changed last year, and foods packaged on or after August 4, 2012 must clearly disclose all gluten sources by listing the common name of the grain.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

×
×
  • Create New...