This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Help Celiac.com:
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Disabilities Act And Celiac

Ciel121

Ciel121 Apprentice

I read an article recently about a woman who could not attend college because of her allergy to peanuts...and I learned that Celiacs are officially considered disabled. Check out this web site:

Open Original Shared Link

I know when I studied for my second Masters (in secondary education) they covered this act and I thought of Celiacs, but I never thought we are officially included. The law does not allow someone to be excluded because of a disability...

How does this work with restaurants? Are they not forced by law to accommodate Celiacs then? Hmmm....

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

kareng Grand Master

It doesn't appear to work in restaurants. Here's why:

It's a choice to purchase a product at a restauraunt. And, Just as a grocery does not have to stock gluten-free bread or a boutique does not have to have a size 16, we are physically able to choose where to shop.

A college is a bit different. If the student is required to purchase a meal plan, they have to be able to provide it safely. If they cannot, they have to make it a " choice" and offer to release the student from the mandatory meal plan ( as an example ).