Jump to content
  • Sign Up

Rate this topic

Recommended Posts

I read that Bulleye bbq sauce is gluten free, but I notice it says it has modified food starch? I thought modified food starch was questionable? We're going camping and my husband wants to bring this bottle of Bulleye sweet and tangy, is it OK for me to eat this stuff? Thanks in advance! 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

As long as you are in the US it would by law be required to list that it was from wheat it if was in fact from wheat. It is beyond ridiculously unlikely that it would be from rye or barley... like, ridiculous. It is almost certainly corn or tapioca or potatoes. Just another myth that needs to die.

 

ETA: I guess I could have googled this sooner but Bullseye is Kraft. All gluten sources will be clearly labeled on Kraft products. If it had wheat, rye or barley, it would say so.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Modified food starch must be declared clearly as wheat if that is the source. That has been the law since 2006, but some old information is still out there. MFS is almost always from either tapioca or corn. Adalaide is right, it won't be rye, barley or oats.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...