This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

"well We Could Go.... Oh Wait You Can't Eat Anything"

EmiPark210

EmiPark210 Contributor

I'm currently studying abroad in Vienna and as much as the grocery stores have, I really wish I could just eat the street food and try the local cuisine. It seems to not even be an option here. The one person at my study abroad center who lives here and is gluten-intolerant just pretty much said "don't eat out." I have my "celiac travel" cards but they don't explain CC, which definitely happened last weekend. Luckily I have a minor reaction to CC so I wasn't bed ridden like if i had eaten one of those beautiful fresh out of the oven rolls that were on the table. But I'm hanging out with a group of college students who don't want to spend all their shopping money on food, so everyone usually goes to a street stand or small shop for food before we go see shows, concerts, etc. And then I take out my sad little sandwich on Schaer bread. I haven't really had time to cook because we're out late every night after classes experiencing the culture and all that Vienna has to offer and now I have time to cook but since it's Corpus Christi day, the entire city, except for bakeries and some cafes and McDonald's, is closed. I'm not eating enough and it's been cold so I just want a hot meal and yes I'm complaining but I'm so lost and hungry. Last night, by the time we found a non-asthma-inducing bar and got drinks, it had been almost 12 hours from when I ate last, because I'm too scared to order anything at restaurants and all I had brought was a sandwich for lunch before 3 hours of class, 2 hours of standing in