Jump to content
  • Sign Up

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

EmiPark210

Wheat Syrup/wheat Starch

Recommended Posts

So I was eating some lovely soy chocolate pudding that says "gluten free" on it in 6 languages and in 3 different places, and then I looked at the ingredients and it listed "wheat syrup" and "wheat starch" in the ingredients. And before we get on the "saying gluten free doesn't mean it" rants, I'm in Austria which has very very strict labeling laws. 

 

Are these things safe? I'm so confused....

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

You can get wheat starch that has had all gluten removed from it, so that may explain it. I won't even touch foods that say that as I am very sensitive to wheat as well as having coeliac disease. Hope you are Okay!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

There was a product that had something called gluten-free wheat fiber in the gluten-free meal from American Airlines that I didn't eat. It was kid of gross anyway as was the whole meal. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

If it says wheat... I wouldn't trust it, even if it does say it's gluten free. Anything where the gluten's been "removed" kind of freaks me out.

But if you don't end up getting ccd, then maybe you don't have a problem with it. Might be worth contacting the company to see what their testing standards are.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

×
×
  • Create New...