This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

New 2 Gluten-Free

New2GFree2013

New2GFree2013 Newbie

I'm new to Celiac Disease and the gluten free diet and have a few questions for anyone who can answer. Because of the malabsorption in my small intestines, I have lost quite a bit of weight and was curious as to how long it will take for me to gain it back. I only started my Gluten-Free diet 4 days ago and understand it can take some time to recover and heal. I also have been suffering from daily headaches since removing gluten from my diet. Could this be a withdrawel symptom? Any advice you all can give would be greatly appreciated!

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

1desperateladysaved Proficient

I am so excited to have you on the road to recovery!  Headaches could be a withdrawal symptom, but any gluten you come into contact with can throw you off too.  Work more and more to discern any product with gluten and get it away.  I always tell my children if they have a headache to make sure to drink enough water.

How long did you have knowledge of your symptoms?  What are you willing to do to get better?  Both of these can help determine just how fast you will recover.  I had at least 30 years of celiac symptoms and at 18 months post gluten I am feeling good much of the time.  Walk in the right direction and you will be getting places!

Get well,

*** some flowers for you,

D

cyclinglady Grand Master