Jump to content
  • Sign Up
rene83

Confused About Caramel Coloring/flavoring

Rate this topic

Recommended Posts

Good morning my fellow celiacs and gluten intolerants,

I need some clarification. Recently I had posted something on colorings/flavorings. I have found that several items such as, BBQ sauce have nothing that screams gluten other than caramel coloring but my ShopWell app tells me to avoid due to gluten. What are your experiences with this?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Caramel color is one of those celiac urban myths that just won't go away.
 
Here is Shelley Case's take on it, from Gluten-Free Diet A Comprehensive Resource Guide:

Although gluten-containing ingredients (barley malt syrup and starch hydrolysates) can be used in the production of caramel color, North American companies use corn as it has a longer shelf life and makes a superior product. European companies use glucose derived from wheat starch, however caramel color is highly processed and contains no gluten.

[Emphasis in original]

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

So is it a gamble mostly? I mean don't food companies HAVE to label the major allergen ingredients now? I am not taking part in thes items just to be safe...

How is usually made from " corn" and "contains no gluten" because of the processing, a gamble? They don't have to label it if it doesn't contain a major allergen. And, because it doesn't contain a major allergen, it wouldn't be labelled.

Edited: my teenage son wanted to talk....as that is rare, I quickly hit enter.

That sounds kind of harsh and I didn't mean it to be. Is confusing because there are all these Celiac " experts" on the internet saying all sorts of odd things. Caramel coloring is gluten-free. Is it a nice natural ingredient that never bothers anyone? Of course not.

Just checked our favorite BBQ sauce - no Caramel coloring.

Edited by kareng

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

How is usually made from " corn" and "contains no gluten" because of the processing, a gamble? They don't have to label it if it doesn't contain a major allergen. And, because it doesn't contain a major allergen, it wouldn't be labelled.

Edited: my teenage son wanted to talk....as that is rare, I quickly hit enter.

That sounds kind of harsh and I didn't mean it to be. Is confusing because there are all these Celiac " experts" on the internet saying all sorts of odd things. Caramel coloring is gluten-free. Is it a nice natural ingredient that never bothers anyone? Of course not.

Just checked our favorite BBQ sauce - no Caramel coloring.

 

 Sorry I was reading the comment from psawyer on my phone and the last part was placed WAAAAY down and I did not see it. I apologize for bothering you with my confusion. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...