This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Working On Diagnosis For 2 Year D

Mylesmommy

Mylesmommy Rookie

Newbie here. I just wanted to share my journey to see if anyone can relate.

My 2 year old had diarrhea on and off for at least 6 months before I thought anything of it. He is a thumb sucker and kid number two, so I just thought he was getting sick until someone pointed out his diarrhea and thag no one else was ever sick. I think I was in denial!

His height also dropped from the 56th percentile to the 27th percentile in only 6 months.

Sent celiac panel and a ton of other stool labs, everything normal except low igA. My pediatrician just calling it toddler diarrhea (which I think is just code for "I give up")

Took him off gluten on a whim....eczema gone. Magically sleeping through the night. Diarrhea mostly gone. Way better behavior.

Saw a GI doctor who, and we decided to do a gluten challenge and get a scope.

Since we restarted the gluten, he has been so sleepy. He has a lot of normal high energy moments, but a lot of

Moments he just lays down on the floor randomly and sucks his thumb. Alternating between loose stools and diarrhea, occasionally formed (is that normal, or if he really had celiac, would it be constant diarrhea?). Somewhat bloated belly. He just isn't himself again.

It's really hard to put him through this. I feel like I am poisoning him!

His weight is allright per the charts, but he looks thin to me. I am frustrated that the pediatrician wasn't concerned with his height. That's a big stop in percentile a if you ask me!