Jump to content
  • Sign Up

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

cornbread

Can't Have Casein. 'pure' Whey Ok?

Recommended Posts

I read somewhere that milk has two proteins - casein and whey. I have a reaction to casein. Does this mean I also have to avoid whey? I have just ordered some protein bars made by BioGenesis which claim to be both gluten and casein free (as well as corn and soy free). However the ingredients list includes:

- whey protein concentrate

- whey protein hydosylate

- whey crisps

So now I'm confused! I have googled 'casein-free whey' and it seems that such a thing does exist. I guess they split the two proteins somehow. See here: http://www.nutrimil.com/ and click on 'what is whey' - it says, "Whey is the liquid part of milk remaining during the cheese making process. The protein casein is curdled out during the process and the milk serum remains." So it sounds like whey doesn't always = casein too. Can anyone shed any light? :huh:

Also, I made a curry last week and used casein-free ghee. I didn't know such a thing existed, but it does and I didn't get caseinated! :)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Much like the use of wheat starch, it's a question of "did you really separate the protein?". I won't use whey, myself, as the contamination question concerns me too much, but if you're not reacting to it, that may be the answer for you.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Whey is the serum or watery part of milk that is separated from the curd in making cheese

There ae two main proteins in milk - casein and whey. Whey protein is derived from he process where milk is turned into cheese. The milk protein whey is separated from the casein protein.

Seems like contamination would be an issue.

Claire

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I don't *think* I reacted... I wanted to give it a few days before I posted as such. It was weird - when I opened the wrapper, before I'd even taken a bite my heart started racing! It was totally psychological, knowing that one bite might make me ill.

I don't think it did, although it's been a little confusing as I managed to gluten myself last night. I think it was contaminated buckwheat. Serves me right for trying to venture back into the land of grains!

I am going to give the protein bar another go anyway. My reactions to stuff is usually fairly immediate so I'm 99% convinced the bar was fine. Also at this stage I still don't know for sure if it's casein or lactose that I'm reacting to - just ordered an enterolab casein test to find out. However, I agree with you in that it's still dairy, and after all the research I've been doing, I really don't want that stuff in my body, allergies or not! Once my low carb needs have been met I will switch back to the Organic Food Bars.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
I don't *think* I reacted... I wanted to give it a few days before I posted as such.  It was weird - when I opened the wrapper, before I'd even taken a bite my heart started racing!  It was totally psychological, knowing that one bite might make me ill.

I don't think it did, although it's been a little confusing as I managed to gluten myself last night.  I think it was contaminated buckwheat.  Serves me right for trying to venture back into the land of grains!

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>

Just a reminder. Buckwheat is not grain - in spite of the unfortunate name.

"a member of the genus Fagopyrum; annual Asian plant with clusters of small pinkish white flowers and small edible triangular seeds which are used whole or ground into flour

"

Commercial buckwheat can get contaminated in processing, of course. There are safe sources. Claire

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

My casein test kit from Enterolab arrived, so I figured now was as good a time as any to risk a caseining and try another 'casein free' whey bar! Ate the bar 45 mins ago. Have a low level headache and shoulder/back ache that came on within 15 mins of eating it. 15 mins after that I got heartburn. Nothing reeeally bad - not enough to take a painkiller or gaviscon - but it's there none the less. It may not be the whey though, the bars are 'gluten-free' but have that 'produced in a facility that also processes.... blah blah blah' disclaimer on them. That could be the reason, or it could simply be that I'm eating the first thing in days that contains non-natural ingredients. I've been eating just fish, meat and veggies and suddenly I throw something in my body with gums and acids and whatnot. Either way, I think the rest of the box will be donated to my husband low-carb snack cupboard!

Oh great, now the headache is really bad. Experiement over! :lol::rolleyes:

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
I think it was contaminated buckwheat.

Cornbread I also react to buckwheat.  I have tried the brand Arrowhead Mills twice now and got real sick both times (my daughter also, but her reaction is over in a day or 2, mine took more than 2 weeks both times). I loved the stuff too, on the package it states gluten free. What brand did you use? I suspect there might be some contamination issues going on.

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>

I would bet on contamination. Find another source, it is too good to pass up. That is especially true when you have diet limitations. I have eaten Buckwheat for ages without any problems and I can't tolerate a piece of bread. Claire

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

My buckwheat was actually part of an organic 'live' granola made by 'Go Raw'. Ingredients: Sprouted Organic Buckwheat Groats, Sprouted Organic Flax Seeds, Organic Raisins, Organic Date. The packet said 'No Wheat/Flour' but didn't say gluten-free. They make their products by hand, so the cross-contamination could've happened during mixing/packing even if the buckwheat itself was safe. Silly of me to risk it but I really wanted to try something new. :(

Feeling much better now though, fortunately it was only a day long one. Probably because I only tried about 3 pieces. :rolleyes:

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I've used Arrowhead Mills Buckwheat to make pancakes and felt kind of ill afterward. I'm insanely sensitive to CC, so it could have been that. I've started to avoid ANYTHING that says "made in the same plant as" unless it's verified kosher or says they use good practices, which means they clean the lines in between or have dedicated lines.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I ran across this blog:

I really, really, miss cheese. I've been gluten-free for about 18 months and dairy free for about a year. I can't eat potatoes or avocados, as they both have chemicals that exacerbate inflammation. I can eat pork, but not in large amounts. The high intrinsic levels of arachadonic acid in pork can worsen the inflammation in the gut, as arachadonic acid is part of the inflammation cascade. I haven't had money to do the Enterolab testing yet, but trial and error elimination diet has pretty much confirmed in my mind that casein hates me. Has anyone heard of this or tried it?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

You know you are commenting on a 7 year old thread? We have more current discussions on casien intolerance & brands of buckwheat with people who are still on the board.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

×
×
  • Create New...