Jump to content
  • Sign Up
glutenmaestro

Will Barley, Rye And Oats Have To Be Declared Under The Fda Ruling?

Rate this topic

Recommended Posts

No.

The ruling only covers products labeled as "Gluten Free." It defines what those words mean. If the label does not say "Gluten Free," then there is no change to the rules. Under FALCPA, wheat must be clearly disclosed, but other gluten sources need not be.

In practice, rye and oats just don't hide. Barley can be listed as malt, or hidden in flavors, but seldom is.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

No.

The ruling only covers products labeled as "Gluten Free." It defines what those words mean. If the label does not say "Gluten Free," then there is no change to the rules. Under FALCPA, wheat must be clearly disclosed, but other gluten sources need not be.

In practice, rye and oats just don't hide. Barley can be listed as malt, or hidden in flavors, but seldom is.

 

Are there any plans in place for this to be covered? Would be nice to see the U.S. get what Canada has.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...