This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

SylviaOtepks

SylviaOtepks Newbie

Hey everyone, this is my first post about becoming gluten free, or really it's my first time ever talking about it.

I guess I'll start with the fact that I was on the verge of tears when I was reading my vegetable broth that I had bought for my dinner tonight to find that it had wheat in it. Thats when I decided I needed a little support.

It's very hard to transition in the beginning and I have had a very hard time getting any support. I constantly have to bug my sister and her boyfriend, whom I live with, about keeping things gluten free like dipping their regular chips in the entire hummus container or not eating my gluten free treats I buy. Constantly getting picked on for being "difficult" or "expensive" to buy for doesn't help either. And they constantly question whether I'm telling the truth. I'm 17 and just discovered I was gluten intolerant. I have had severe anxiety and digestive problems my entire life and finally have gotten rid of those problems (still have anxiety but not as bad). My intolerance seems to keep getting worse also. Before If I would come in contact with something with gluten in it I would get a bit of a stomach ache, bloating and such. Now I get all those problems and extreme itchiness. I break out in welts and it is awful. Ive also lost a significant amount of weight and am suspect Im becoming malnourished. Not having a lot of money to buy a bunch of gluten free things has taken a toll on me and I am also a vegetarian to top it off.