Jump to content
  • Sign Up
Celiac.com Sponsor:


Celiac.com Sponsor:

FastTurtle

Gluten Free Foods Still Causing Gluten Reaction

Rate this topic

Recommended Posts

I'm new to the whole gluten-free scene. In fact, I eliminated gluten before being tested because I was showing the signs in the mist of the school semester and needed to eliminate what was going on before I could head to the doctor. I have the script for the a blood test now, but know I need to reintroduce gluten to my diet for a significant amount of time prior to taking the test. Believe me, it's on my things to do... But I just don't want to do it to avoid the pain.

I just have a weird question. I tend to show a gluten reaction to certain "gluten free" foods, in particularly:

kraft lite catalina dressing

mario batali marinara sauce

Does anyone have insight as to why this may happen?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Welcome to the board.

You may be reacting to something else in the product. Other intolerances are common among people with celiac disease.

You don't say how long you have been gluten-free. If you have celiac disease, and damage was done, it may not yet have fully healed. In that case, random reactions to almost anything can occur.

The fact that you have identified specific trigger foods makes me think it is the former. Look carefully at the ingredients to see if there is something in common among them.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks for the prompt reply and teaching me so much more about celiacs!

My symptoms became unbearable last summer. I elimated gluten, to the best of my abilities, in Steptember 2013. There have been minor slip-ups along the way, but I've been extremely careful when I have a reaction. I learned that grilled chicken at resturants may NOT be gluten free the hard way, yikes.

I do have food allergies (shellfish, almonds, bananas) that usually cause throat swelling, so I tend to be extra careful when reading ingredient list. I'll have to study the ingredients closer and try to determine what may be triggering this reaction. I made tomato sauce with a similar ingredients to Mario Batali's sauce, but didnt have a reaction.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Some celiacs are sensitive to lower levels than others.  Some don't notice any symptoms on a full gluten diet. Some can eat "no gluten ingredients" without symptoms.  Some avoid food processed in facilities that also process wheat.  Some only eat food from a facility that tests for gluten to 5 ppm.  I introduce any carefully chosen thing I eat separately and trial it for a week to be sure that I don't react to it before I consider it safe for me.  We are all different.  That is another possibility for your reaction.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I tend to not handle maltodextrin very well, I have read that it is often imported and considered gluten free even when made with wheat (very tiny amounts) and that China often uses wheat, the US manufactured normally not (or can not).  Sorry this was awhile ago, I do not have a link. My daughter started having trouble with maltodextrin also after 5 plus years gluten free.

 

Also, about a year and a half ago I kept getting gluten somewhere and it was in chicken.  It now has that on the labels and one of our main groceries says their brand label breasts can no longer be considered gluten free.  The thighs are not and all the parts are processed at the same time.  So I buy under the Amish label, gluten free on the label, free range,etc.  I have also found fresh beef or angus meat with 'contains wheat' on the labels.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I tend to not handle maltodextrin very well, I have read that it is often imported and considered gluten free even when made with wheat (very tiny amounts) and that China often uses wheat, the US manufactured normally not (or can not). Sorry this was awhile ago, I do not have a link. My daughter started having trouble with maltodextrin also after 5 plus years gluten free.

Also, about a year and a half ago I kept getting gluten somewhere and it was in chicken. It now has that on the labels and one of our main groceries says their brand label breasts can no longer be considered gluten free. The thighs are not and all the parts are processed at the same time. So I buy under the Amish label, gluten free on the label, free range,etc. I have also found fresh beef or angus meat with 'contains wheat' on the labels.

Gluten in plain chicken? I have never seen that. What brand puts gluten in the plain uncooked chicken? What is the gluten, wheat?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

gluten in plain chicken? I have never seen that. What brand puts gluten in he plain uncooked chicken? What is the gluten, wheat?

Michigan began labeling the maximum % added ingredients during processing.  I cannot find the particular link I wanted, our grocery used to say boneless breasts were gluten free but not thighs, then they said they were processing the entire chicken on the same equipment at the same time so you could not be certain any of it was gluten free.  Right now they took the entire list down for updating, but here are a couple of links that say "added ingredients contain broth"  http://www.nola.com/health/index.ssf/2011/07/confused_about_chicken_labels.html

http://www.fooducate.com/app#page=product&id=E3CCAA40-7BDC-11E2-9B11-1231381A4CEA  I was horrified.  I found this out in the summer of 2012 because I knew somehow I was getting gluten and made a connection with chicken on the grill.  We started buying chicken labeled gluten free (Amish label is fairly easy to find at the grocery).  I also read somewhere since that restaurants with gluten free chicken entrees have to be careful to only use gluten free.  I was even more surprised to find out angus burgers at all the major fast food contain gluten (broth for flavor)  Fortunately I did not eat any, some fresh beef at the grocer now says contains wheat and frozen patties.  

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Michigan began labeling the maximum % added ingredients during processing. I cannot find the particular link I wanted, our grocery used to say boneless breasts were gluten free but not thighs, then they said they were processing the entire chicken on the same equipment at the same time so you could not be certain any of it was gluten free. Right now they took the entire list down for updating, but here are a couple of links that say "added ingredients contain broth" http://www.nola.com/health/index.ssf/2011/07/confused_about_chicken_labels.html

http://www.fooducate.com/app#page=product&id=E3CCAA40-7BDC-11E2-9B11-1231381A4CEA I was horrified. I found this out in the summer of 2012 because I knew somehow I was getting gluten and made a connection with chicken on the grill. We started buying chicken labeled gluten free (Amish label is fairly easy to find at the grocery). I also read somewhere since that restaurants with gluten free chicken entrees have to be careful to only use gluten free. I was even more surprised to find out angus burgers at all the major fast food contain gluten (broth for flavor) Fortunately I did not eat any, some fresh beef at the grocer now says contains wheat and frozen patties.

Where did you get the idea that " broth" contains gluten? Usually it's chicken juice, water and salt. If they add wheat, they have to list that. Your links don't say " gluten" or wheat.

You can tell which have the added salt water by looking at the sodium content. Unsalted chicken has some naturally occurring sodium but it will be way less than the package of chicken with salt water added.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Where did you get the idea that " broth" contains gluten? Usually it's chicken juice, water and salt. If they add wheat, they have to list that. Your links don't say " gluten" or wheat.

They did on the label after broth I think it says wheat, maybe gluten derived from wheat.  Now the same grocery at my sister's in Indiana says their chicken is gluten free.  Meijers turkeys were labeled gluten free this past Thanksgiving but the self-basting ones did not used to be.  We had an easier time finding gluten free turkey this year.  Sam's Club says 'wheat', can not remember if it says gluten, on their fresh boneless chicken breast also and I was sad because they had them at a really good price awhile back

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

They did on the label after broth I think it says wheat, maybe gluten derived from wheat.  Now the same grocery at my sister's in Indiana says their chicken is gluten free.  Meijers turkeys were labeled gluten free this past Thanksgiving but the self-basting ones did not used to be.  We had an easier time finding gluten free turkey this year.  Sam's Club says 'wheat', can not remember if it says gluten, on their fresh boneless chicken breast also and I was sad because they had them at a really good price awhile back

  

Looking for these links I saw on wikipedia this practice of adding liquid is called 'plumping', the grocer's label says something about flavor and moisture.

If the ingredients state wheat - that is one thing. Broth isn't another word for wheat. As your link pointed out - its salt water. I try not to buy them because I do not want the added salt.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

Also, about a year and a half ago I kept getting gluten somewhere and it was in chicken.  It now has that on the labels and one of our main groceries says their brand label breasts can no longer be considered gluten free.  The thighs are not and all the parts are processed at the same time.

 

Hi Penny,

 

Would you mind posting the store name and brand of chicken that has wheat on the label?  It might help someone else avoid it who isn't paying attention.  I have seen meats with wheat listed as ingredients, but it was usually in a flavor packet that was a separate item in the package.  Or on more processed meats.

 

I wonder if some companies are taking the easy way out with the new labeling laws.  If they want to label something gluten-free I think they have to test it.  Maybe they figure it is safer to just say it has gluten instead.   That would be going over board in the wrong direction I think.

 

Anyway, knowing the product name would be handy for other celiacs who might live in your area.  So if you can post it, thanks! :)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thank you all for the vast information. I find comfort knowing that it is possible to have a gluten reaction to products that do not include gluten ingredients on their labels. I've elimated products that state they are processed by a facility that processes wheat, as they were upsetting me as well. I mostly stick to "gluten free" labeled products or homemade from meats and fresh veggies. The only time I venture away from this are the two products mentioned above and gluten-free menus from eating establishments.

I'll be much more careful selecting salad dressings and stick to homemade sauce.

One day, maybe over the summer, I'll reintroduce gluten in order to get proper testing. It just hurts too much when I do ingest it...

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Just wanted to add that a Xanthan gum intolerance seems to be rare. My husband has no issues with it at all! I do not want others seeing this post to give it up. It does produce great baked goods. I am allergic/intolerant to so many things....a family curse!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Just a few comments for you.  Your chicken that glutened you was grilled you said?  The grill is most likely the culprit.  Prepared meat products at the butcher counter should be off limits ie: pre-made hamburger patties etc.  Turkey, chicken, pork, turkey are inherently gluten free.  If wheat is added it will be on the label.  You need to read every label every time.  You also mentioned that you trust eating off a gluten free menu.  Those items are only gluten free in theory.  They are being prepared in a gluten filled kitchen.  It is not a safe choice to trust that.  Many precautions go into eating out safely and even then you need to limit how much you dare to eat out.  I must stress to you....Eating out is not usually safe for Celiacs unless it is a dedicated gluten free restaurant.

 

Best of luck to you,

 

Colleen

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The grilled chicken slip up was me assuming that all grilled chicken was safe early on in this change. And, as stated, I learned the hard way that is was not, lol! I ate a bun-less grilled chicken sandwich without looking at the restaurant's allergen menu, which listed that the chicken was not gluten free. Live and learn ;)

Believe me, I don't trust gluten free menus, but I admit that it is one of the only time I dont eat "gluten free" labeled products. Therefore I am prepared for some cross over. I live in NYC, which is a very gluten-free friendly place (as it is the fad to be gluten-free). However, I always stress to the managers that this diet was not a choice and we will all have a problem if I have a reaction to my meal. They usually laugh thinking I'm being witty, but sadly I'm serious.

I just find it strange, and concerned, that I am having reactions to things that do not list gluten-products in their labels, such as kraft salad dressing and mario batali sauce.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I just find it strange, and concerned, that I am having reactions to things that do not list gluten-products in their labels, such as kraft salad dressing and mario batali sauce.

i avoid most pre-packaged salad dressings because of soy.  salad dressing peoples loves 'em some soybean oil.  in the beginning, i was confused because my (gut) reaction mimicked my reaction to gluten.  it took a little time to differentiate between the two types of reactions because they were so similar (at first, my guts reacted to *lots* of things that weren't gluten, but i was all like:  WHAT am i doing wrong??)  but, as i kept a food journal, it became evident i have a secondary sensitivity to soy)  i find that is much more of a challenge than just trying to avoid gluten! 

 

and wheat in chicken?  uh, no.  no, no, no, no, no, no.  i buy various brands and i try to see :  'minimally processed' on the labels.  all just fine and dandy for normal celiacs.  no gluten, just chicken, chicken & salt, chicken & water, chicken juice & salt, chicken broth & water, water & veggie juice, etc  plumping is probably when they inject the meat with such a solution to make the meat retain moisture as it is cooked.  sometimes, i will plump my own turkey by injecting it with a spiced up chicken broth - very tasty :)  but no gluten :)

 

(although, it is fun to pretend i am a mad scientist with my scary injection needle, cackling:  bwah hahahahahaaaaaa!!!   it's chicken broth for you!  gluten free chicken broth!!!!!  bwah hahahahahaaaaa!!!!!)

 

^_^

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

ps - that is about chicken that you buy raw in the food store that is not pre-seasoned, pre-breaded, pre-=cooked.,  plain, identifiable, looks like a chicken part or a whole chicken, not chopped and pre-formed, etc.   as far as chicken in restaurants, which could be pre-seasoned or get cc'd by the grill.  no, thanks.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi Fastturtle,

 

Some times cooks will toast buns on the grill.  Or will cook breaded meats etc on the grill.  And they may use the same spatula for flipping your order that is gluten-free as they use for breaded foods.  It's easy for food to get contaminated in a restraunt kitchen, even if it started out perfectly gluten-free.  You might do better if they will agree to cook your order in a separate clean skillet.  But really eating out early in the gluten-free diet is not a good idea.  The beginning of the gluten-free diet is your chance to turn things around for your health, and stop the auto-immune attack on your body.  That is easier if you KNOW that your food is safe and gluten-free.  You can never know that for sure in a restraunt setting where they also serve gluteny foods.  It's always taking a chance to eat out in non-dedicated restraunts.  That doesn't mean you can't do it, but it is better to wait until you understand the gluten-free diet better.  It can take several months to get familiar with the various gotchas that trip people up.  May as well make it easy on your self and not take unnessecary risks while you are learning eh?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi,

 

I've read that even things specifically marked as gluten-free can sometimes cause problems because of cross-contamination. Seems like they should have to make sure that doesn't happen in order to say the product is gluten-free but I guess it does happen.

 

 

Thanks for the prompt reply and teaching me so much more about celiacs!

My symptoms became unbearable last summer. I elimated gluten, to the best of my abilities, in Steptember 2013. There have been minor slip-ups along the way, but I've been extremely careful when I have a reaction. I learned that grilled chicken at resturants may NOT be gluten free the hard way, yikes.

I do have food allergies (shellfish, almonds, bananas) that usually cause throat swelling, so I tend to be extra careful when reading ingredient list. I'll have to study the ingredients closer and try to determine what may be triggering this reaction. I made tomato sauce with a similar ingredients to Mario Batali's sauce, but didnt have a reaction.

 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor:

  • Top Posters +

    1. 1
    2. 2
      RMJ
      RMJ
      12
    3. 3
    4. 4
    5. 5
    6. YOU
      Guest
      Guest
      1
×
×
  • Create New...