Jump to content
  • Sign Up
snowmom

Recommendation For Safe/unsafe Foods List

Rate this topic

Recommended Posts

Can anyone recommend a good list of safe/unsafe ingredients for celiacs? I'm looking for an easy-to-use reference  to provide to my child's preschool (this is something the school requested I find for them).

 

We purchased a list by Jacqui Carr on Amazon. It's pretty thorough, BUT it includes confusing statements about whether rice and corn contain gluten, with question marks next to rice and corn. I can't give this to my kid's school, as I told the director when we had the big celiac conversation that white and brown rice are some of the few gluten-free staple foods that I know my daughter will eat, and that rice-based products labeled gluten-free are generally acceptable.

 

So, has anyone found another gluten-free ingredient list that they like?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I made my own list to distribute to Girl Scouts, sport parents, etc.  Feel free to C/P and then adjust at will. :)

 

***

Gluten Free Snack Foods:

Look at the ingredient list - only things without wheat, rye, barley, malt, oats and NOT made in a facility with those items.

 

Fruit

* bananas, apples, strawberries, grapes, etc (washed but not cut)

* Go-go Squeeze applesauce

* raisin, Craisins (most other brands of dried fruit are packaged in facilities with wheat)

* most fruit cups

* Fruit by the foot

* many brands of fruit snacks

 

Vegetables - carrots (washed but not cut), individual hummus packages

 

Protein

* Individually wrapped string cheese

* Individually tubed yogurt (go-gurt and the like)

* many brands of peanuts, tree nuts and mixed nuts

 

Junk Food

* many Frito Lay products (fritos, cheetos, doritos, ruffles, tositidos)

* Gluten Free Chex (most flavors except wheat)

* PUFFED Goldfish

* Pirate's Booty

* most brands of popcorn

* many brands of tortilla chips

* many brands of chocolate covered raisins

* most Jell-O pudding cups or gel cups

 

Combo Snack

Rice Cakes with Jif-To-Go or hummus or nutella

Most brands of tortilla chips and most brands of salsa

 

Drinks

Nearly all juice boxes are gluten free.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Iam not a fan of lists.  Manufacturers change things all the time. Providing a list can really get people to not read the labels and cause real issues.

Agree with you there.  And a list might make them think that something similar is safe.  For instance, my dad once picked up a bag of baked potato chips.  Not safe even though the regular Lay's were.  I don't want to say that the issue with those was gluten.  Daughter does have other food intolerances.

 

If I had to send in such a list, it would be short.  It would say that anything I sent in would be fine.  If I didn't send it then she couldn't eat or drink it.  Even if the item itself is safe, such as a juice box...  Someone could have touched a sandwich, then helped to unwrap and insert a straw spreading gluten to the straw.  Of course this could happen if the kid brought in their own juice box.  Just saying...  If you sent it in, you know where it has been and what may have happened to it.  You don't know if it is something sent in by somebody else.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Can anyone recommend a good list of safe/unsafe ingredients for celiacs? I'm looking for an easy-to-use reference  to provide to my child's preschool (this is something the school requested I find for them).

 

We purchased a list by Jacqui Carr on Amazon. It's pretty thorough, BUT it includes confusing statements about whether rice and corn contain gluten, with question marks next to rice and corn. I can't give this to my kid's school, as I told the director when we had the big celiac conversation that white and brown rice are some of the few gluten-free staple foods that I know my daughter will eat, and that rice-based products labeled gluten-free are generally acceptable.

 

So, has anyone found another gluten-free ingredient list that they like?

 

 

If it were me, I would tell the preschool that I will provide all food - lunches, snacks, etc.  Maybe even leave a little bag of fruit snacks or something.  Ask about special days like birthdays so your child can bring her own cupcake/chocolate Udis muffin.  I would then instruct them on how to keep the other kids and the staff's gluteny hand off her safe food.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks for the thoughts. I agree with a lot of what other posters have said. But I guess I didn't ask the question right. The school wasn't asking for a product list, but an ingredient list. All those un-pronounce-able mystery ingredients that you see on processed food boxes. The Carr book I mentioned does include a very long list like that, and it seems really thorough.  But I'm not sure if I can trust that her advice is mainstream because she says corn and rice, even in their purest form, might contain gluten, and that doesn't square with what I've read anywhere else.

 

Just to share my further research:

 

I found a good pair of lists on the main celiac.com page ( http://www.celiac.com/categories/Safe-Gluten%252dFree-Food-List-%7B47%7D-Unsafe-Foods-%26amp%3B-Ingredients/ ). And I also liked the "wildcard" list on this website: http://zenfullydelicious.com/gluten-free-101/list-of-non-gluten-free-ingredients-wildcards/  I'd still like to find a good pocket guide that's more thorough, but haven't found the right one just from Amazon reviews.

 

The pre-school has had a celiac child in the past, and they successfully fed that kid out of their (amazing) food program. They have an industrial kitchen and are creating a dedicated prep area for my DD with new cutting boards, toaster, etc. We're going to see if it works out for them to make her food.  At this point, they actually have more experience with the gluten-free diet than I do.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Well.  that's easy - nothing that says wheat, rye, barley, barley malt, the word "malt" with no other clarification, oats that are not certified gluten-free.  I took a few things off this list like beer and cookie dough - because preschools shouldn't have beer and if they read the ingredients on the cookie dough, they will see it says wheat. I added a few things to make it more clear.   Most stuff on this list they probably will never use but they might not realizes couscous is wheat or soy sauce has wheat unless its gluten-free Tamari

 

 Abyssinian Hard (Wheat triticum durum)

Atta Flour
Barley Grass (can contain seeds)
Barley Hordeum vulgare
Barley Malt
Bleached Flour
Bran
Bread Flour
Brewer's Yeast
Brown Flour
Bulgur (Bulgar Wheat/Nuts)
Bulgur Wheat
Cereal Binding
Chilton
Club Wheat (Triticum aestivum subspecies compactum)
Common Wheat (Triticum aestivum)
Couscous
Dinkle (Spelt)
Disodium Wheatgermamido Peg-2 Sulfosuccinate
Durum wheat (Triticum durum)
Einkorn (Triticum monococcum)
Emmer (Triticum dicoccon)
Enriched Bleached Flour
Enriched Bleached Wheat Flour
Enriched Flour
Farina
Farina Graham
Farro
Flour (normally this is wheat)
Fu (dried wheat gluten)
Germ
Graham Flour
Granary Flour
Groats (barley, wheat)
Hard Wheat
Heeng
Hing
Hordeum Vulgare Extract
Hydroxypropyltrimonium Hydrolyzed Wheat Protein
Kamut (Pasta wheat)
Kecap Manis (Soy Sauce)
Ketjap Manis (Soy Sauce)
Kluski Pasta
Maida (Indian wheat flour)
Malt
Malted Barley Flour
Malted Milk
Malt Extract
Malt Syrup
Malt Flavoring
Malt Vinegar
Macha Wheat (Triticum aestivum)
Matza
Matzah
Matzo
Matzo Semolina
Meripro 711
Mir
Nishasta

Oats - not certified gluten-free
Oriental Wheat (Triticum turanicum)
Orzo Pasta
Pearl Barley
Persian Wheat (Triticum carthlicum)
Perungayam
Poulard Wheat (Triticum turgidum)
Polish Wheat (Triticum polonicum)
Rice Malt (if barley or Koji are used) -- just rice malt is OK
Rusk
Rye
Seitan
Semolina
Semolina Triticum
Shot Wheat (Triticum aestivum)
Small Spelt
Spelt (Triticum spelta)
Sprouted Wheat or Barley
Stearyldimoniumhydroxypropyl Hydrolyzed Wheat Protein
Strong Flour
Tabbouleh
Tabouli
Teriyaki Sauce & soy sauce not labelled gluten-free
Timopheevi Wheat (Triticum timopheevii)
Triticale X triticosecale
Triticum Vulgare (Wheat) Flour Lipids
Triticum Vulgare (Wheat) Germ Extract
Triticum Vulgare (Wheat) Germ Oil
Udon (wheat noodles)
Unbleached Flour
Vavilovi Wheat (Triticum aestivum)
Vital Wheat Gluten
Wheat, Abyssinian Hard triticum durum
Wheat amino acids
Wheat Bran Extract
Wheat, Bulgur
Wheat Durum Triticum
Wheat Germ Extract
Wheat Germ Glycerides
Wheat Germ Oil
Wheat Germamidopropyldimonium Hydroxypropyl Hydrolyzed Wheat Protein
Wheat Grass (can contain seeds)
Wheat Nuts
Wheat Protein
Wheat Triticum aestivum
Wheat Triticum Monococcum
Wheat (Triticum Vulgare) Bran Extract
Whole-Meal Flour
Wild Einkorn (Triticum boeotictim)
Wild Emmer (Triticum dicoccoides)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...