This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Birthday Cake Help Needed

paw

paw Apprentice

A friend on another site has a little boy who needs cake!

"Okay I really need help!! I'm not a baker! I love to cook and hate to bake. My darling wonderful son is going to be 3 on 12/11 and has been saying that he wants to have friends, cake and candles. Well he is allergic to wheat, corn, milk & eggs! I have no idea what to do. I have looked in all the local health food stores and I have had no luck. I also tried on line and can't find anything."

Can anyone come up with a recipe that will make this adorable little guy have a happy birthday? I am new at this and have not baked a gluten-free cake at all. Thanks!

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

angel-jd1 Community Regular

Why don't they just do a recipe with a rice flour mix, egg replacer , and a soy or rice milk? It should work!! Hope he has a great birthday!

-Jessica :rolleyes:

angel-jd1 Community Regular

You might have to do some checking around on the egg replacers, the one that I looked at has corn in it. Hummmmmm

-Jessica :rolleyes:

VydorScope Proficient

You can try this...

Baking

For each egg, substitute one of the following in recipes:

* 1 tsp. baking powder, 1 T. liquid, 1 T. vinegar

* 1 tsp. yeast dissolved in 1/4 cup warm water

* 1 1/2 T. water, 1 1/2 T. oil, 1 tsp. baking powder

* 1 packet gelatin, 2 T. warm water. Do not mix until ready to use.

These substitutes work well when baking from scratch and substituting 1 to 3 eggs.

CREDIT: Open Original Shared Link

Kasey'sMom Enthusiast

Paw,