Jump to content
  • Sign Up

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

BlessedMommy

Any Vegetarians Here?

Recommended Posts

I was already vegetarian when I found out that I couldn't tolerate gluten. (had a TIA and was hospitalized just 10 days into a gluten trial, so no celiac testing for me!)

 

I also don't tolerate dairy well either. In addition, I avoid refined sugar as much as possible, due to a weak immune system.

 

I view gluten intolerance as a blessing, in a way, because I can't eat 99% of the highly processed meat substitutes. Instead, I eat lots of fruits, veggies, beans, whole grains, etc. I feel like being gluten free will probably extend my quality and quantity of life, because I can't eat a lot of the vegetarian substitute foods that aren't very healthy.

 

Are there any other vegetarians here? Care to share your favorite recipes or menu ideas?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'm not but....there are one or two or 1000 here. Plus, lots of folks eat some vegetarian dishes. Look on the cooking thread. Maybe post on the what's for Dinner thread and look over there.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I don't claim to be a vegetarian, I simply don't eat meat unless I have to.  Which means I only eat meat if I am at a restaurant or visiting.  I don't cook so my preferred easy to prepare meal is brown rice from my rice cooker with cannellini beans topped with spaghetti sauce.  For some reason, I never tire of it.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

i have been vegeterian all my life and i live in india... my b12 levels were low 200 and my sister even lower....

u may want to check ur b12 levels and discuss the use of vitamin k2 wit ur doc....

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I was vegetarian / vegan most of my adult life until  celiacs <_<

My choices were extremely limited because of  additional intolerances so I added animal protein back into my diet . Not happy about that and I am slowly working my way back ( to  as close to vegetarian as I will get because of my intolerances )

 

There are some vegan/ vegetarians in these forums ( one I can think of off the top of my head is KenLove)

I agree with kareng, posting in the dinner thread is a good place to start.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I have owned the cookbook "How It All Vegan" for years and I have many many fave recipies in there. I haven't revisited it since developing the gluten allergy (for about 2 weeks now) but I know there are quite a few rice-based recipes in there.

 (I'm thinking specifically of a tomato/zucchini/rice recipt that is delish. I'll post it later when I have to cookbook in front of me.)

 

However, since you're concerned with processed foods in addition to gluten/meat/dairy, I KNOW you'll use this book. I have it dog-eared to death. :)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

U can try Indian foods like this, when u feel bored to cook..

http://www.amazon.com/MTR-Tomato-Ready--Ounce-Boxes/dp/B00IEKLG4C/ref=sr_1_32?s=grocery&ie=UTF8&qid=1393351547&sr=1-32&keywords=Mtr+foods

Just check the labels to be sure... MTR is owned by a Norwegian company and the food in made in Bangalore, India...

They may not be marked gluten free, but Indian rice dishes are naturally gluten free... No wheat is grown in the place where it is manufactured.

Mtr also makes dished using wheat, so pl Cheka the labels for wheat or maida (highly refined wheat)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'm vegetarian but not vegan.  I eat eggs to get those animal product nutrients.  When pasture is available I also drink pasture raised milk.  I usually throw together some kind of stir fry with veggies and eggs, and eat fruit plain or blended into a smoothie.  I snack on nuts.  I emphasize whatever is in season.  That works fine for me.  My nutrient levels measured in the normal range.  So did my bone density.  I've been mainly vegetarian for over 30 years, vegan for some of those, and gluten-free for over 6. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hiya Blessedmommy, I've been veggie for over 30 years but its only since being diagnosed with celiac disease 14 months ago that I've took more interest in cooking from scratch (used to practically live on microwave meals!). Anyway, I've a few decent books but tend to throw allsorts together in a slow cooker or wok and hope for the best :) or failing that use internet sites. Came across a recipe today of a quinoa base pizza I'm going to try which is on the Joe Cross reboot fat sick and nearly dead website which looks yummy and healthy.

Feel free to share any of your recipes :)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

As a vegan for almost 5 years, vegetarian before that and celiac for 9 years, Im always working on new recipes.  As mentioned below, a study of indian food is well worth the effort. I also like simple things like thin grilled veggies with different types of balsamic or other  gluten-free  sauces I make up.  Indian foods with the spices are amazing, even just the dals (lentils) offer hundreds of choices.

good luck

I was already vegetarian when I found out that I couldn't tolerate gluten. (had a TIA and was hospitalized just 10 days into a gluten trial, so no celiac testing for me!)

 

I also don't tolerate dairy well either. In addition, I avoid refined sugar as much as possible, due to a weak immune system.

 

I view gluten intolerance as a blessing, in a way, because I can't eat 99% of the highly processed meat substitutes. Instead, I eat lots of fruits, veggies, beans, whole grains, etc. I feel like being gluten free will probably extend my quality and quantity of life, because I can't eat a lot of the vegetarian substitute foods that aren't very healthy.

 

Are there any other vegetarians here? Care to share your favorite recipes or menu ideas?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Question:  What is the difference between Vegetarian and Vegan.  I though a Vegan was a car.

 

Colleen

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Question:  What is the difference between Vegetarian and Vegan.  I though a Vegan was a car.

 

Colleen

this took me a second :P:lol:  

 

a chevy vega is a car

 

 

Vegan: Vegans do not consume any animal products or by-products. So vegans of course do not consume red or white meat, fish or fowl. They also do not consume eggs and dairy. Vegans do not use honey or beeswax, gelatin and any other animal by-product ingredients or products. Vegans typically do not use animal products such as silk, leather and wool, as well.

 

Lacto Vegetarian: Lacto-vegetarians do not eat red or white meat, fish, fowl or eggs. However, lacto-vegetarians do consume dairy products such as cheese, milk and yogurt.

 

Ovo Vegetarian: Ovo-vegetarians do not eat red or white meat, fish, fowl or dairy products. However, ovo-vegetarians do consume egg products.

 

Lacto-ovo vegetarian: Lacto-ovo vegetarians do not consume red meat, white meat, fish or fowl. However, lacto-ovo vegetarians do consume dairy products and egg products. This is the most common type of vegetarian.

 

Pollotarian: Much like the pescatarian, this “semi-vegetarian” diet restricts  meat consumption to poultry and fowl only. Pollotarians do not consume red meat or fish and seafood

 

Pescatarian (Pescetarian):  these individuals do restrict their meat consumption to fish and seafood only. Pescatarians do not consume red meat, white meat or fowl.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Nice Pescatarian church here in Hawaii :rolleyes: 

this took me a second :rolleyes:  :lol:  

 

a chevy vega is a car

 

 

Vegan: Vegans do not consume any animal products or by-products. So vegans of course do not consume red or white meat, fish or fowl. They also do not consume eggs and dairy. Vegans do not use honey or beeswax, gelatin and any other animal by-product ingredients or products. Vegans typically do not use animal products such as silk, leather and wool, as well.

 

Lacto Vegetarian: Lacto-vegetarians do not eat red or white meat, fish, fowl or eggs. However, lacto-vegetarians do consume dairy products such as cheese, milk and yogurt.

 

Ovo Vegetarian: Ovo-vegetarians do not eat red or white meat, fish, fowl or dairy products. However, ovo-vegetarians do consume egg products.

 

Lacto-ovo vegetarian: Lacto-ovo vegetarians do not consume red meat, white meat, fish or fowl. However, lacto-ovo vegetarians do consume dairy products and egg products. This is the most common type of vegetarian.

 

Pollotarian: Much like the pescatarian, this “semi-vegetarian” diet restricts  meat consumption to poultry and fowl only. Pollotarians do not consume red meat or fish and seafood

 

Pescatarian (Pescetarian):  these individuals do restrict their meat consumption to fish and seafood only. Pescatarians do not consume red meat, white meat or fowl.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

this took me a second :P:lol:  

 

a chevy vega is a car

 

 

Vegan: Vegans do not consume any animal products or by-products. So vegans of course do not consume red or white meat, fish or fowl. They also do not consume eggs and dairy. Vegans do not use honey or beeswax, gelatin and any other animal by-product ingredients or products. Vegans typically do not use animal products such as silk, leather and wool, as well.

 

Lacto Vegetarian: Lacto-vegetarians do not eat red or white meat, fish, fowl or eggs. However, lacto-vegetarians do consume dairy products such as cheese, milk and yogurt.

 

Ovo Vegetarian: Ovo-vegetarians do not eat red or white meat, fish, fowl or dairy products. However, ovo-vegetarians do consume egg products.

 

Lacto-ovo vegetarian: Lacto-ovo vegetarians do not consume red meat, white meat, fish or fowl. However, lacto-ovo vegetarians do consume dairy products and egg products. This is the most common type of vegetarian.

 

Pollotarian: Much like the pescatarian, this “semi-vegetarian” diet restricts  meat consumption to poultry and fowl only. Pollotarians do not consume red meat or fish and seafood

 

Pescatarian (Pescetarian):  these individuals do restrict their meat consumption to fish and seafood only. Pescatarians do not consume red meat, white meat or fowl.

 

Wow Chilly,  I had no idea the differences.  Thank you for the explanation.  This is certainly a keeper for my records.

 

Thanks Again.

 

Colleen

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

As a vegan for almost 5 years, vegetarian before that and celiac for 9 years, Im always working on new recipes.  As mentioned below, a study of indian food is well worth the effort. I also like simple things like thin grilled veggies with different types of balsamic or other  gluten-free  sauces I make up.  Indian foods with the spices are amazing, even just the dals (lentils) offer hundreds of choices.

good luck

I really need to experiment with indian cooking .

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

there are a lot of books out there. You might start with looking up saag, alo gobi, palak, dal makani.

 

Also many groceries now carry tasty bites or other Indian microwaveable foods. they are not bad and will give you and idea of spices.

 

good luck

 

I really need to experiment with indian cooking .

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

  • Forum Discussions

    Awol, I saw this earlier...but got busy with life...Knitty Kitty's response triggered my memory...POTS has been associated with low Thiamine Levels...they say as many as 1/4 of those with POTS might improve after taking thiamine supplementation...
    You can try the AIP diet. It is very effective for treating IBS. Migraines are often linked to IBS. https://autoimmunewellness.com/aip-medical-study-results/ Also NAC an antioxidant that can cross the blood brain barrier. http...
    Well this year for Christmas we are doing something different, past I always hosted..and well some family issues meant my family generally either skipped or came a few days later to eat. This year my parents are finally having Christmas...
×
×
  • Create New...