Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-m):


  • You've found your Celiac Tribe! Join our like-minded, private community and share your story, get encouragement and connect with others.

    💬

    • Sign In
    • Sign Up

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Recommended Posts

Anyone have issues with sabiosky vodka? I asked the store clerk for potato vodka and he said they didn't carry any. But said this kind was gluten free even though it's made from grain. I don't know if it's just my imagination but the last 3 days I can't stay awake.

Any thoughts? Experiences?


CANADA New Brunswick :)  Accidently saw the light. 

 

Continuously looking for no subsitute recipes

 

its not complicated! its just hard.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):


Vodka is gluten free. I am certain of this. I drink it often and I am fine.


"Life is not the way it's supposed to be. It's the way it is. The way we cope with it makes the difference." Virginia Satir

"The strongest of all warriors are these two - time and patience." Leo Tolstoy

"If you want to lift yourself up, lift up someone else" Booker T. Washington

“If idiots could fly, the sky would be like an airport.”― Laura Davenport 

"Do or do not. There is no try. "-  Yoda.

"LTES"  Gem 2014

 

Misdiagnosed for 25+ years; Finally Diagnosed with Celiac  11/01/10.  Double DQ2 genes. This thing tried to kill me. I view Celiac as a fire breathing dragon --and I have run my sword right through his throat.
I. Win. bliss-smiley-emoticon.gif

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Vodka is gluten free. I am certain of this. I drink it often and I am fine.

I agree with IH, but if you are concerned, Smirnoff is widely available and is made exclusively from corn (this is technically a grain BTW).

Peter

Diagnosis by biopsy of practically non-existent villi; gluten-free since July 2000. I was retested five years later and the biopsy was normal. You can beat this disease!

Type 1 (autoimmune) diabetes diagnosed in March 1986

Markham, Ontario (borders on Toronto)

Celiac.com - Celiac Disease Board Moderator since 2007

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

this kind says its made with rye. i just thought it would have been filtered out where the store clerk said it was gluten-free?


CANADA New Brunswick :)  Accidently saw the light. 

 

Continuously looking for no subsitute recipes

 

its not complicated! its just hard.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It is taboo to say this on this forum, but there are a large amount of celiacs who report getting glutened from vodka distilled from wheat. I do without a doubt. I stick with non-grain based vodka, rum, 100% agave tequila, wine, and cider.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Your experience is your own, and may differ from that of the majority of persons with celiac disease. Most people with celiac disease can consume distilled liquor, regardless of the source.


Peter

Diagnosis by biopsy of practically non-existent villi; gluten-free since July 2000. I was retested five years later and the biopsy was normal. You can beat this disease!

Type 1 (autoimmune) diabetes diagnosed in March 1986

Markham, Ontario (borders on Toronto)

Celiac.com - Celiac Disease Board Moderator since 2007

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It is taboo to say this on this forum, but there are a large amount of celiacs who report getting glutened from vodka distilled from wheat. I do without a doubt. I stick with non-grain based vodka, rum, 100% agave tequila, wine, and cider.

 

It's not "taboo", Nick, but it is incorrect to say distilled alcohol is NOT gluten free.  That is what we have been trying to tell you.

 

Maybe you got sick, but it's not from gluten. The process renders the gluten harmless. It's what the science says. It's what the celiac researchers say. 

 

Just saying a "large amount of celiacs reporting getting glutened" (who are they?  and where is the evidence--random internet posts?)

Sorry, but this anecdotal evidence does not change the facts. 

 

We strive to give factual information on here. We just can't get you to see the distinction between "people say" and the science.

 

From the Univ. Of Chicago Celiac Disease Center:

Are distilled beverages made with a prohibited grain (wheat, rye, barley) safe for celiacs?

Only specific gluten-free beers (Bard’s Tale, New Grist, Green’s, Redbridge, to name a few) are appropriately gluten free. As for pure spirits, (vodka, gin, scotch), the distillation process makes these beverages safe because the protein is removed. However, flavored spirits may contain malt, and should be avoided.


"Life is not the way it's supposed to be. It's the way it is. The way we cope with it makes the difference." Virginia Satir

"The strongest of all warriors are these two - time and patience." Leo Tolstoy

"If you want to lift yourself up, lift up someone else" Booker T. Washington

“If idiots could fly, the sky would be like an airport.”― Laura Davenport 

"Do or do not. There is no try. "-  Yoda.

"LTES"  Gem 2014

 

Misdiagnosed for 25+ years; Finally Diagnosed with Celiac  11/01/10.  Double DQ2 genes. This thing tried to kill me. I view Celiac as a fire breathing dragon --and I have run my sword right through his throat.
I. Win. bliss-smiley-emoticon.gif

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Ok well for my own peace of mind I decided to go all out. I found a store that carries potato vodka. and I totally overdid it (love these experiments :rolleyes:B) )

anyway this morning I am left with a headache and sore joints.

id say this is a clean hangover because from past experience this is the way I always feel when I overdo the rum

for the sake of consistency I will do it all over again tonight as well, because when i felt like I might have been "glutened" with the rye vodka I had done it over a period of 2 days. (it was a long snow storm please dont judge me :wub: )

with the rye vodka I felt like I was fed benadryl and could not snap out of the drowsiness for days after. the reason I feel like it is a gluten reaction is because this is how i felt before I started this diet

Ill keep you posted


CANADA New Brunswick :)  Accidently saw the light. 

 

Continuously looking for no subsitute recipes

 

its not complicated! its just hard.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Ok well for my own peace of mind I decided to go all out. I found a store that carries potato vodka. and I totally overdid it (love these experiments :rolleyes:B) )

anyway this morning I am left with a headache and sore joints.

id say this is a clean hangover because from past experience this is the way I always feel when I overdo the rum

for the sake of consistency I will do it all over again tonight as well, because when i felt like I might have been "glutened" with the rye vodka I had done it over a period of 2 days. (it was a long snow storm please dont judge me :wub: )

with the rye vodka I felt like I was fed benadryl and could not snap out of the drowsiness for days after. the reason I feel like it is a gluten reaction is because this is how i felt before I started this diet

Ill keep you posted

 

 

Hate to go with the obvious here, Patt...but maybe you just can't drink that much right now?  Sometimes celiac guts can't handle booze.

 

And no one here would judge anyone for drinking during a long snow storm. Don't blame you one bit. :D


"Life is not the way it's supposed to be. It's the way it is. The way we cope with it makes the difference." Virginia Satir

"The strongest of all warriors are these two - time and patience." Leo Tolstoy

"If you want to lift yourself up, lift up someone else" Booker T. Washington

“If idiots could fly, the sky would be like an airport.”― Laura Davenport 

"Do or do not. There is no try. "-  Yoda.

"LTES"  Gem 2014

 

Misdiagnosed for 25+ years; Finally Diagnosed with Celiac  11/01/10.  Double DQ2 genes. This thing tried to kill me. I view Celiac as a fire breathing dragon --and I have run my sword right through his throat.
I. Win. bliss-smiley-emoticon.gif

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hate to go with the obvious here, Patt...but maybe you just can't drink that much right now?  Sometimes celiac guts can't handle booze.

 

And no one here would judge anyone for drinking during a long snow storm. Don't blame you one bit. :D

haha no I can drink a bit. obviously ppl get hangovers  but that time it was really like drinking a bottle of benadryl and being drowsy and foggy. I feel great today. lets see if tomorrow is just as good :)


CANADA New Brunswick :)  Accidently saw the light. 

 

Continuously looking for no subsitute recipes

 

its not complicated! its just hard.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Ok well for my own peace of mind I decided to go all out. I found a store that carries potato vodka. and I totally overdid it (love these experiments :rolleyes:B) )

anyway this morning I am left with a headache and sore joints.

id say this is a clean hangover because from past experience this is the way I always feel when I overdo the rum

for the sake of consistency I will do it all over again tonight as well, because when i felt like I might have been "glutened" with the rye vodka I had done it over a period of 2 days. (it was a long snow storm please dont judge me :wub: )

with the rye vodka I felt like I was fed benadryl and could not snap out of the drowsiness for days after. the reason I feel like it is a gluten reaction is because this is how i felt before I started this diet

Ill keep you posted

 

I think that you need to keep doing your experiments.  :P

 

In all seriousness, I think that if you are someone who has problems with contamination from products made in shared facilities, you may have problems with alcohol made from gluten grains.  I don't see a way that they could be made in a facility that doesn't have gluten grains present.  I believe that I have had problems with alcohol made from gluten containing grains.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

did it again with potato vodka. I am happy with the results :)

Im sticking with it


CANADA New Brunswick :)  Accidently saw the light. 

 

Continuously looking for no subsitute recipes

 

its not complicated! its just hard.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

did it again with potato vodka. I am happy with the results :)

Im sticking with it

 

 

Well, I'll drink to that! Cheers! 

 

barman.gif


"Life is not the way it's supposed to be. It's the way it is. The way we cope with it makes the difference." Virginia Satir

"The strongest of all warriors are these two - time and patience." Leo Tolstoy

"If you want to lift yourself up, lift up someone else" Booker T. Washington

“If idiots could fly, the sky would be like an airport.”― Laura Davenport 

"Do or do not. There is no try. "-  Yoda.

"LTES"  Gem 2014

 

Misdiagnosed for 25+ years; Finally Diagnosed with Celiac  11/01/10.  Double DQ2 genes. This thing tried to kill me. I view Celiac as a fire breathing dragon --and I have run my sword right through his throat.
I. Win. bliss-smiley-emoticon.gif

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It is taboo to say this on this forum, but there are a large amount of celiacs who report getting glutened from vodka distilled from wheat. I do without a doubt. I stick with non-grain based vodka, rum, 100% agave tequila, wine, and cider.

I also get sick from vodka distilled from wheat. I do extremely well with Tito's vodka.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I try my best to stick with potato or non grain vodka.  My husband and I like Vikingfjord(potato).   We tried Ciroc that is made from grapes and we didn't like it and it upset both our stomachs.  I have drank Absolut (distilled from winter wheat) and did not have any issues with it at all.  So I guess you just have to find one that works for you. 


Me:
Celiac disease(positive blood work/biopsy- 10/2008), gluten free oat intolerent, Hashimoto's Thyroiditis/Disease, Raynaud's Disease


DS2(age 9):
celiac disease(positive IgA tTG, no biopsy- 11/2010)


DS1(age 13):
repeated negative bloodwork and negative EGD/biopsy. Started on a gluten free trial(8/2011). He has decided to stay gluten free due to all of the improvements he has experienced on the diet.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

A few months back I had a drink of vodka and water , I felt I was Glutened, I can now have a vodka and water that is Grain, corn, potato what ever ,it doesn't bother me. I think my gut was not healed enuf. I don't drink too often but sometimes it's nice to have a lil drinkypoo and not feel like I am Glutened.  


Recovering Gluten Eater 

DX'd June 17th 2013

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I don't get why different distilled vodkas all taste different from each other when all they're supposed to be is alcohol due to the distillation.

I would drink lab-grade ethyl alcohol made from anything, I trust science. I'm just not sure I trust vodka manufacturers. I have no personal experience one way or the other reacting to it, I've just avoided it.

 

Anecdotal evidence isn't to be scoffed at. eg: NCGI is a diagnosis that's all anecdotal ASAIK.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

A few months back I had a drink of vodka and water , I felt I was Glutened, I can now have a vodka and water that is Grain, corn, potato what ever ,it doesn't bother me. I think my gut was not healed enuf. I don't drink too often but sometimes it's nice to have a lil drinkypoo and not feel like I am Glutened.  

Thanks for the info.  Good to know things may improve with time & healing.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I don't get why different distilled vodkas all taste different from each other when all they're supposed to be is alcohol due to the distillation.

Vodka, like most distilled spirits, is around 40% alcohol. The remaining 60% is what varies and gives flavor. The distillation removes gluten because the gluten molecule is too large to vaporize, so it is left behind.

Peter

Diagnosis by biopsy of practically non-existent villi; gluten-free since July 2000. I was retested five years later and the biopsy was normal. You can beat this disease!

Type 1 (autoimmune) diabetes diagnosed in March 1986

Markham, Ontario (borders on Toronto)

Celiac.com - Celiac Disease Board Moderator since 2007

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

So what happens if some of the gluten molecules get broken down before distillation happens and the distillation process isn't refined enough to get rid the fractions of molecules? We already know there's variability in what some celiacs react to (eg: oats) also, so it seems very possible that some celiacs could have autoimmune reactions to only fragments of molecules.

Furthermore, detection methods for non-whole molecules are probably lacking.

 

I would be very interested if someone has proper peer-reviewed research about the safety of vodkas in terms of not just measuring gluten content, but where they've actually tested individual's reactions to various distilled grain products.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

So what happens if some of the gluten molecules get broken down before distillation happens and the distillation process isn't refined enough to get rid the fractions of molecules? We already know there's variability in what some celiacs react to (eg: oats) also, so it seems very possible that some celiacs could have autoimmune reactions to only fragments of molecules.

Furthermore, detection methods for non-whole molecules are probably lacking.

 

I would be very interested if someone has proper peer-reviewed research about the safety of vodkas in terms of not just measuring gluten content, but where they've actually tested individual's reactions to various distilled grain products.

If you don't believe us or don't understand distillation, that's fine. Don't drink them if you think they aren't for you. I doubt Celiac researchers are going to spend a lot of time on proving distillation in studies. :)


 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I believe people who say they have reactions to certain alcohols, and I also believe people who don't have reactions to those same alcohols.

 

If I don't understand how something works, I ask. That's why I'm asking. To tell me 'it's fine that you don't understand something' when I'm asking to understand something is completely misreading the intent of the question because obviously, no, to me it's not fine that I don't understand.

 

I know there are studies done regarding cc of flours and such, doesn't seem unreasonable that there would be studies done with vodkas, and some people collect celiac research and I don't care enough apparently to dig around trying to find any.

 

It was an honest question.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I believe people who say they have reactions to certain alcohols, and I also believe people who don't have reactions to those same alcohols.

 

If I don't understand how something works, I ask. That's why I'm asking. To tell me 'it's fine that you don't understand something' when I'm asking to understand something is completely misreading the intent of the question because obviously, no, to me it's not fine that I don't understand.

 

I know there are studies done regarding cc of flours and such, doesn't seem unreasonable that there would be studies done with vodkas, and some people collect celiac research and I don't care enough apparently to dig around trying to find any.

 

It was an honest question.

Here is a simple explanation of distillation. Go down to distilled liquors.

https://www.celiac.com/articles/23350/1/Common-Misunderstandings-of-Gluten-Free-Alcoholic-Beverages/Page1.html

There is some research being done into NCGI looking to see if there is a different part of wheat that might be the issue for them. I think it could be possible that some Celiacs also have that issue - just as some Celiacs can have a wheat allergy, too. But currently, they haven't found what this substance is, so it's just speculation. So...if a food, beverage, etc bothers you for whatever reason, don't consume it.


 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites