This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

What Is Your Restaurant Spiel?

JodyM75

JodyM75 Apprentice

As a Celiac newbie, I was hoping some of you veterans could give me an idea of what you say when you go out to eat?  How much detail do you go into?  When do you decide to just have water?  What are some buzzwords the waiter or manager says that give you warm and fuzzy feelings or just the opposite? 

Thanks so much!

Jody

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

kenlove Rising Star

i think it takes some practice to determine the level the knowledge the server and the chef has at each restaurant you visit. Allergy, getting sick and "extremely ill" are phrases they take notice at. Sometimes you have to check for each item you want to order and the serve will have to go back and forth and ask the chef 3 or 4 times. Sometimes the server will come back and  say what you can and cant have or what they change in order to make it ok -- if they know the word celiac then its a good sign. Sometimes the chef will make you something that is not on the menu and your friends will be jealous!  Call ahead of time too and dont be afriad to ask for the chef and ask them what they can do for you as a celiac.

good luck

As a Celiac newbie, I was hoping some of you veterans could give me an idea of what you say when you go out to eat?  How much detail do you go into?  When do you decide to just have water?  What are some buzzwords the waiter or manager says that give you warm and fuzzy feelings or just the opposite? 

Thanks so much!

Jody

KCG91 Enthusiast