Jump to content
  • Sign Up
BlessedMommy

Juice/punch

Rate this topic

Recommended Posts

Are all punches and juice gluten free? I went to a wedding today and I actually ended up eating or drinking nothing at the reception (other than water from their water pitcher) just to be safe, but I considered pouring a glass of punch.

 

Is it safe to drink juice/punch without reading ingredient lists?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I wouldn't drink a juice or punch without knowing the ingredients, my brain has been trained to read "every label every time"

 

Colleen

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Most likely it was safe. I would have checked what kind it was. Really the only juice I have seen with a possibility of gluten are those greenish ones made with wheat/ barley grass. Not likely to be at a wedding. Plain juice .... I don't check.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

When you get  invited  to  weddings  & such  they are usually  catered  by  a  chef... Just  call the place  &  ask to speak to the  caterer  or the  chef... These  days  almost  all know  about a gluten-free  meal... I just  contacted a  motel  who  was  hosting  a  expensive  wedding  &  he  said  oh  no problem  ,,,  he  said  this is so common  ... He  says  he  makes   tries to make  much of his menu  gluten-free.... because it is so common....

I always  offer to pay for  my gluten-free  meal  but  never  has that  happened...never  been  an up charge for a  gluten-free meal  at a  function....

 

So  whether it  be  a sit-down  or  a  buffet, call  the  place... I had  a buffet  invite & called  & that  chef   said all of his  buffet  was  gluten-free  except  for the  one appetizer  &  the  meat  which was  stuffed  chicken breast..  He  asked  if  a grilled  breast  with  balsamic  vinegar   would  please  my palate! And for  dessert  I had  ice  cream... the  wheat  eaters  had ice  cream & cake...

The  appetizers  were  a olive/ pepperoni  , cheese, fruit  trays.....crackers  were  placed  away from the other  trays...

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

This wedding was a small low key wedding and the food was coordinated by the groom's sister. I ended up just munching on the snacks that I brought along and no one really looked at me twice, because:

1) my snacks were similar to the appetizers at the wedding

2) I had to run in and out a lot with my toddler.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Punch without crazy things added to it is probably fine.  But, that isn't 100% confidence level.  With the severity of your reactions, I think you did the right thing.   I would be worried about CC from people having just picked up cookies, etc and it all being handled around the same area.  When in doubt, leave it out.  If the punch bowl was on its own clean table and looked like just juice with no crazy fruit jello or gross sorbet stuff added to it, I would have some.

 

Low key weddings are the best.  Glad you didn't feel weird with your own snacks.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Gah, barley hides in so many things it wouldn't surprise me if the softdrink used in the fruit punch had it in there somewhere, also some colours for softdrinks are derived from wheat, but generally not ones you'd use for punch.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Gah, barley hides in so many things it wouldn't surprise me if the softdrink used in the fruit punch had it in there somewhere, also some colours for softdrinks are derived from wheat, but generally not ones you'd use for punch.

 

 

In the US, I have never seen a soda with barley or wheat.  Artificial colors are not a concern for Celiacs.

 

 

 

http://celiacdisease.about.com/od/celiacdiseasefaqs/f/Caramel_Coloring.htm

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...