Jump to content
  • Sign Up

Rate this topic

Recommended Posts

I went to a nut milk class today and double checked that their samples were gluten-free. I asked about their vanilla too and the host checked it for me . Now I'm seeing something stating that pure vanilla extract is all gluten-free and that the alcohol in it is not concerning? I thought that alcohol could be a potential hiding place for gluten?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Distilled alcohol is gluten-free, regardless of the source. The protein can not be vaporized in the still because the molecule is too heavy. The resulting distillate is always gluten-free. It is just something I don't worry about.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I used vanilla bean that I purchased through a natural food coop.  Nothing is added just an inch or two of the bean tossed into a grinder.  The smell is delicious in your pantry.

 

Dee

 

Ah yes, if you have access to it and want to impress someone with a dessert, whole vanilla beans are the way to go.  I haven't come across a vanilla that contained gluten, but I only buy real vanilla so I haven't looked at any of the artificial extracts.  I usually buy the one on sale out of a few good quality brands.

 

Perhaps my next project should be vanilla bean ice cream.  I am going to ruin myself with my culinary successes.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...