This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Events Following My Diagnosis Now Shattered

Nlcurl

Nlcurl Newbie

New here, diagnosed 2 days ago.

I had mostly removed gluten from my diet prior to my diagnosis so at home the jump into a gluten-free lifestyle hasn't been devastating.....yet

But yesterday I walked into work (I am a teacher) and they were setting up a teacher appreciation lunch. One of my coworkers who has a celiac son assured me I could make a salad and eat the pulled pork but I was literally already feeling better and didn't want to risk it.

All bundled up in the weekend following my diagnosis I have a graduation party and a beef and beer I've been looking forward to for weeks. I was talking to someone associated with the beef and beer about my fear and disappointment and her response was "well there's no gluten in meats"

I love eating and I love eating out, that's where the gluten-free knife is really stabbing me

I can't even begin to ask how do I navigate this for life, I'm just trying to navigate this first weekend. :(

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

kareng Grand Master

I wouldn't trust the " no gluten in meats". They could have been marinated in beer or a soy sauce containing stuff.

For this weekend, if you don't want to watch people eating, one option is to not go. I don't think that should be your strategy for your whole life, but maybe just for a few days. Tell people you aren't feeling well.