Jump to content
  • Sign Up

Rate this topic

Recommended Posts

Can this be safe?  I was in the grocery yesterday and saw a product labeled Gluten Free.  It looked delicious, and I checked the label only to find "Barley Amylase" listed.  This was a small manufacturer, so I wondered whether they truly understand what Gluten Free is, or maybe Barley Amylase is safe?

 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I had to look it up too and came to the same conclusion, that it is some sort of malted barley product. It is my understanding that under the new rules, nothing that has any ingredients derived from wheat, rye or barley can be considered gluten free... but that rule isn't in effect yet. I would simply notify them that they can't be doing that crap and not eat it.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

An amylase is an enzyme that breaks down carbohydrates.  A barley amylase comes from barley.  If it's purified enough it could be considered to be gluten free just like other purified gluten grain derived products like alcohols, wheat starch, other barley enzymes etc. 

http://www.chem.uwec.edu/Webpapers2005/leee/barley.html

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Amylase

 

I would avoid it, but I am very sensitive and avoid most processed foods.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...