Jump to content
  • Sign Up
WinterSong

Any Recent Updates On The Blue Cheese Debate?

Rate this topic

Recommended Posts

I only just heard about the debate on whether or not blue cheese is safe (urg no matter how long we're on this diet new things keep cropping up!). I heard about the Canadian Celiac Association study finding no detectable amount of gluten in any of the blue cheese samples they tested. 

 

I've been using Trader Joe's blue cheese, and I'm a little nervous. I generally only trust Trader Joes for foods that are naturally gluten free (eggs, coconut oil, fruits, veggies, cheese), but I have been eating blue cheese on my salads pretty regularly for eight months. I don't think I had a reaction to it. Every once in a while I've gotten a light stomach ache after eating my salad but figured that it was probably because I was eating it every day and needed to switch it up (thinking in line about how food intolerances can sometimes develop). I'm a little worried. Wheat/barley/rye isn't listed on the label, but then again Trader Joes isn't the best at listing manufacturing/CC info.

 

Should I be worried? Any new research out there? 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Contributing to my own thread. This is from National Foundation for Celiac Awareness. I would still love to know anyone else's opinion from this forum on whether or not you eat it. Please help put my mind at ease :) Thanks!

 

 

 

Question:

Is brie gluten-free?

From,

David

Answer:

Hi David. Thanks for your question! In regards to cheeses, the question I get asked most is if blue cheese is gluten-free. (Answer: Almost always, yes, but not 100% depending if the growth medium for the mold spores was grown on wheat or rye bread. Even then, it would be highly unlikely the final product would contain more than 20 ppm gluten.)

As for brie, the creamy and delicious cheese itself should absolutely be gluten-free. The rind is also very likely to be gluten-free; however, some have questioned if the rind contains gluten due to the method of making it (i.e. if the mold spores used to make the brie were grown on wheat or rye bread.)

As with blue cheese, even if this was the case, it would be very unlikely the brie would contain 20 ppm or more gluten. Indeed, a 2009 study conducted by the Canadian Celiac Association found no detectable levels of gluten (using three different ELISA test kits) on three samples of blue cheese that were made from mold grown in gluten-containing media.

So, go ahead and enjoy some brie with some fruit and your favorite gluten-free crackers!

In good health,

EA Stewart, MBA, RD

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I didn't know there was a debate. But I suppose some people will debate most anything? Lol

I eat blue cheese. Yum!

And it sounds like you found a reliable answer to your question.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

If you read here, there is a summary from the article they link. Basically, even in cheeses with molds cultured on something gluteny there is no detectible gluten in the cheese. The paper linked is from 2009, at this point after five years there should no longer be a debate. Blue cheese is safe.

 

http://glutenfreecooking.about.com/od/soupsandsalads/f/Is-It-Safe-To-Eat-Blue-Cheese-On-A-Gluten-Free-Diet.htm

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...