Jump to content
  • Sign Up

Rate this topic

Recommended Posts

Hi Folks,

 

I realize that lager contains Gluten, and I need to purchase Gluten free lager, but I was wondering if anyone would know if Paderborner Pilsener is Gluten Free, it states it is very pure...

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Welcome to the forum!

 

In general, beer is going to contain gluten unless it is specifically formulated without the gluten containing grains that most beers are made of.  I looked up that brand of beer and saw a mention of hops, and no mention to the absence of gluten, so that is not going to be a gluten-free lager.  Purity with beer is something totally different than the potential absence of gluten/allergens.  When looking for a gluten-free beer, look for a brand that states it is naturally gluten free.  Some brands use gluten in production and then claim to remove it, but I would still stay away from those and go with something that was never made with it in the first place.  

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Welcome to the forum!

 

In general, beer is going to contain gluten unless it is specifically formulated without the gluten containing grains that most beers are made of.  I looked up that brand of beer and saw a mention of hops, and no mention to the absence of gluten, so that is not going to be a gluten-free lager.  Purity with beer is something totally different than the potential absence of gluten/allergens.  When looking for a gluten-free beer, look for a brand that states it is naturally gluten free.  Some brands use gluten in production and then claim to remove it, but I would still stay away from those and go with something that was never made with it in the first place.  

I see..thank you for replying so swiftly, I will buy the correct stuff tommorow.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

There is also the option of getting their customer comments number off their website or a bottle of their beer and calling them and asking. Or if you see a distributor at the gas station, grocery store, liquor store, etc you could ask them. In my experience they tend to have a good knowledge of what products they deliver are gluten free (and for legal reasons shouldn't be dumb enough to say it is if they aren't positive). I even had a distributor call a brewery directly for me when asking about a beer.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Regular beer usually has barley in it - malt, barley malt, malted, etc.  Hops are gluten-free but malt is not. Some beer also has wheat.  Being "very pure" has nothing to do with gluten free.  You would need to find a beer labelled gluten free.  Most hard ciders are gluten free - not exactly beer but might be easier to find.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...