Jump to content
  • Sign Up
nvsmom

Wheat Glucose - I've Read It May Be Safe But It Is Difficult To Believe

Rate this topic

Recommended Posts

My gluten-free son was offered a Menthos candy the other day and after reading the label (he's good about that) we found that it had wheat glucose in it, so he declined.  I had never seen that as an ingredient before and although I assumed it was not safe for a celiac, I have found many websites stating that it is in fact safe for celiacs - as safe as distilled alcohols one site implied.

 

Anyone know anything about this?

 

I'm inclined to skip anything that says "wheat" on it. Who needs to risk a Menthos when there are many other foods (well, junk foods) that pose no risk, but I'm still curious about it.

 

As a p.s., I am now seeing some sites stating that wheat maltodextrin is also safe. I've never seen it in an item, but is it really? 

 

Sigh. I'm getting paranoid about gluten. I can't comfortably drink gin, scotch or rye anymore. It just stresses me out and makes the drink no fun - the opposite of relaxing.  :ph34r:  I'm not hearing voices yet though, I swear...

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yes, to both. Glucose and maltodextrin are highly processed items. There is no detectable gluten in them, using the most sensitive tests, even when they are produced from wheat. The Canadian Celiac Association lists both as safe.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...