Jump to content
  • Sign Up
0
ivyandwill

Glucose From Wheat

Rate this topic

Recommended Posts

We avoided anything with glucose made from wheat as a precaution but recently a Dietician told me that the process of extracting the glucose ensures there is no gluten present.  Is that what you guys have heard?  

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

In the US, you don't find this very often.  It is considered to be highly processed and tests gluten free.

 

Personally - if I see the word " wheat" on a product, I just skip it.  Its safe, but I have seen that dirty word....   Psychosomatic probably.   :blink:    But, like I said, I haven't seen glucose made from wheat more than once or twice in the US.

  • Upvote 2

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

There is a company that samples chocolate at Costco with "maltitol (wheat)" on the label but it is also still labeled as gluten free. I've looked up lots on it (it's the only wheat based sweetener I've ever encountered) and was happy with what I read and have quite happily enjoyed a piece of chocolate every time I see them there. Never had a problem with it. I think if I encountered a similar product with "glucose (wheat)" on the label I'd also happily enjoy it since it shouldn't cause any problems. I also sometimes buy vodka made from wheat if I just need a bargain bottle for something. I don't let the word scare me off of products if the science is behind it being gluten free.

  • Upvote 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Good timing of this question. I was going to ask the same thing. Tonight I was looking at "After Eight" chocolates. The label says glucose syrup which wouldn't flag anything for me. However, the Japanese label (I live in Japan) translates it as "mizuame" which is a sweetener BUT they say what it was derived from and it says wheat. I put them back. Then I came back to Google this and various sites said glucose syrup is so processed there is no gluten even if it was originally derived from wheat.......

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Glucose from wheat is safe, but I usually steer clear anyways.  The word DOES freak me out.  LOL  Besides, I've only every encountered it in candy and I should steer clear of that anyways.  ;)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

In the US, you don't find this very often.  It is considered to be highly processed and tests gluten free.

 

Personally - if I see the word " wheat" on a product, I just skip it.  Its safe, but I have seen that dirty word....   Psychosomatic probably.   :blink:    But, like I said, I haven't seen glucose made from wheat more than once or twice in the US.

 

Outside the US and heavily US influenced countries ALL glucose is made from wheat.

 

It's not the greatest stuff in the world, being a refined sugar but I'd take it 1000x before I took the same thing made from Corn. It's very common stuff and yes it has no gluten. But it's made from a grain and it's sugar, I wouldn't eat it if you wanted to remain healthy long term.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It just amazes me that these things are slowly making their way back into a Celiac's diet. When I was diagnosed nearly 2 decades ago, anything derived from wheat was considered unsafe. Celiac can kill when we eat anything with even trace amounts of gluten. I nearly died from it. There is no real reason to eat such things and risk ruining our health. I sure don't want to get back on the 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Sunny.....if you choose not to eat something because you think it contains gluten, that is your choice. The reason things are different than it was 20 years ago is because education and knowledge and testing protocols are much better. Glucose from wheat is safe for Celiac's and the testing proves it. Same with tocopherols used in many products....safe, safe, safe! This is not the same thing as eating a donut.

I am every bit as sensitive as you are, nearly died from this disease also and that is no exaggeration. Yet, on occasion, I have trailed this product and never ever once had any exacerbation of symptoms. I do not eat this often at all because it does not appear in the foods I regularly eat but it definitely will not kill any Celiac if they ingest it from time to time. While Celiac Disease can kill some people, the vast majority of people diagnosed are far from dying so let's not be overly dramatic about it. I am fully healed and that never would have happened if I were ingesting gluten that would spark an AI reaction. Common sense and science people!!!!!!!

  • Upvote 3

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I steer clear of anything that says wheat.... Maby I will miss out on some things but thats ok :)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
0

×