This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Where Your Contribution Counts!
    eNewsletter
    Support Us!

Reading Food Labels?

Glutenbola

Glutenbola Newbie

I recently got diagnosed with celiac disease, I am going to be starting my diet soon and I'm not really sure what to do about it. I know to look for things that say gluten-free on them but, what about labels? What if you're not sure if something is gluten-free and you have to look on the back of the box for the side of the box for labels? What do I look for? I know I can't have wheat but that's basically it. Like I said, I'm new at this whole thing so, if anyone can help me just let me know! ☺️

Thanks !

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

kareng Grand Master

Here is a good place to start -

https://www.celiac.com/forums/topic/91878-newbie-info-101/

Basically the things I see most often - Wheat, rye, barley, malt, barley malt, oats (in a product not labelled gluten-free, need gluten-free oats), spelt, couscous, soy sauce (should list wheat somewhere in the ingredients & some don't have wheat like San J).

Glutenbola Newbie

Thank you SO much ! (: big help !

HappyMom623 Proficient

For me in the beginning, I ate whole foods like meat, veggies, eggs, fruit and cheese (assuming no other allergies). This helped me heal and not have to worry about labels. After that, I bought ONLY from the the gluten free isles in my grocery store. It was more pricey, but it eliminated a lot of worry. 3 years later, and I'm still learning things I can and can't have. Sadly, as much as I like cashews, almost all brands still make me sick. :-(

Glutenbola Newbie