Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-m):

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

CeliacMommaX2

Ingredients To Look For On Non-Food Products

Sorry, I'm brand new at this!  My 4 year old with Celiac puts her hands in her mouth all the time and has taken on the bad habit of chewing her hair!

Is the ingredient list to watch out for on things like hand sanitizer, shampoo, etc the same as what I'm watching for in food? 

Thank you!

Mom to 2 young kids with celiac, diagnosed March 2015

*Gluten free household

Join eNewsletter

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Usually wheat is in shampoo in the form of wheat protein or wheat germ oil. Generally gluten containing ingredients should be pretty straightforward. Most lotions are gluten free, but read the labels and watch out. Any Aveeno products with oats would be out.

A number of personal care products are labelled gluten free these days. 

I don't think that hand sanitizer has any gluten, but it doesn't hurt to check.

With a child with celiac, it would be best to buy gluten free/grain free food for the pets, if you have any. Cats groom themselves with their tongues and then kids pet the cats. Also, kids handle the pet food and sometimes even eat it. 

~Ruth

Gluten free since 2/14/2010 after suffering a rare and serious complication from my gluten challenge

Join eNewsletter