This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

New Here: Tiny Home, Husband Eats Gluten, Etc.

StainedGlassWindows

StainedGlassWindows Newbie

This is my first time posting, and, while I've been gluten free for almost a year, I still feel rather new to all of this and really wonder about a few things. I've been on the autoimmune paleo diet to help for about a year, which requires a lot of cooking, but I have seen some improvements and feel like I've learned so much. Anyway, thank you so much in advance for your help! It is greatly appreciated!

1.) I live in a rented very tiny home, so small it could be part of the tiny homes movement. The kitchen is very very small. There is almost no counter space at all. I have to use the stovetop as a counter. The main counter space is kind of like a mini bar that connects to the living room--serving as a dining table too. How do you make such small kitchen areas gluten free? I mean surely people with celiac living in other small areas like in shared college dormitories or shared tiny studio apartments find a way to stay safe.

2.) My husband eats gluten. Even so, he keeps his nonperishable snacks out of the kitchen (except for the lower part of the fridge and freezer) and stays out of the kitchen except to go the fridge, which is on the outer edge of the kitchen. He keeps these nonperishable gluten foods about 6 feet from the kitchen. He eats outside of the home a whole lot in order to keep more gluten out of our home, but this is really hard on him, and me too as we rarely eat together, which saddens us!