Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-m):

CeliacMommaX2

Can I Trust All "gluten Free" Labels?

Rate this topic

When my kids were initially diagnosed, I was told (by the dietition) that if it says "gluten free" then it's safe even if it has the "made in a facility with wheat, etc".  Is this true?  I've gotten very paranoid as my daughter has still not gained weight after 4 months gluten free.

I just have no idea what products to trust.  I have a hard time telling if my kids are reacting to a certain food... they are only 3 & 5 and can't really tell me "I think I reacted to those crackers".  What if a products doesn't actually say anything about "manufactured in a facility..." but they were and it just isn't on the label.

Thanks for your thoughts!

Mom to 2 young kids with celiac, diagnosed March 2015

*Gluten free household

Join eNewsletter

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

I am not really an expert on labels but, I do not buy anything that is made in a facility that process wheat.  I feel it is safer not to take chances, your children are so young they cannot tell you if they have minor problems. Stay with whole foods or certified gluten free. At least that is my opinion.

Join eNewsletter

Companies do not have to disclose whether or not they process wheat in the same facility or equipment. You could be eating something on a regular basis that is made in the same facility and not even know it.

Here's they way I handle it. Same facility? I don't worry about it. The chances of CC are tiny. As has been pointed out here many times, unless your entire family is gluten-free your own kitchen is a "same facility".

Same EQUIPMENT? That's a different story. I've worked at enough places of all kinds to know that many employees will take shortcuts and some will try to get away with doing as little work as possible. Therefore I don't trust them to clean the machinery well enough to keep me safe.