Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-m):

sarahluther

Vacationing W/ Other Families

Rate this topic

Hi there everyone!  Hopefully someone out there can give me some good advice.  I was diagnosed w/ Celiacs in the beginning of May, so I am fairly new to this world.  I have been gluten free since and except for the occasional accidental glutening, I feel a lot better.  Problem is, I have my first vacation in almost 20 years coming up in August.  (Obviously planned before my diagnosis.)  We will be sharing our vacation house with 2 other families- I am the only one with any food restrictions.  I obviously don't want to get sick on vacation - but I also don't want to be a burden to the 15 other people we will be staying with for the week - harrassing everyone about keeping their gluten to themselves, haha.  I need to know if anyone else has been through this and what is the best way of going about it.  I am pretty sure that I will need to bring my own pots/pans, cooking utensils, etc.  I thought about cooking and freezing meals before hand and transporting them.  Help!  Any suggestions would be appreciated- thank you! =)

Join eNewsletter

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Sounds like you have it down. I like the idea of preparing meals in advance. I do this while camping or traveling in our RV. Makes my vacation more enjoyable.