Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-m):


Rate this topic

Recommended Posts

It had to have been no more than 2 months ago when I last bought Ortega hard taco shells which were labeled gluten free. Now I can't find them. I have been to 2 of the 3 stores in my town and while there are Ortega hard taco shells at both stores; none of them say gluten free on the box. Publix has the shelf tags that contain the price as well as a gluten-free symbol for the gluten-free products. The gluten-free shelf tag was still there but the Ortega taco shells in that slot did not carry the gluten-free claim on the box. The ingredients on the box do not indicate gluten at all. On Thursday the 15th, I used the contact form on the Ortega site to inquire if they had changed their gluten-free labeling policy. I would have called them but their contact info. does not include a phone #. My email to them has not been answered. I really thought 7 working days would have seen an answer from them & I'm disappointed they have not replied. Ortega is owned by B & G Foods. After much searching I finally found a phone # for them this evening. I will call them on Monday. BTW, the phone # is 888-887-3268.

The Ortega website no longer shows the box with the gluten-free labeling. B & G Foods used to have a gluten free list but that list no longer exists. There is no gluten-free information on either site, not even in the FAQ's section. There is no search box for either site so you can't search for info. about gluten-free.

I am really craving some tacos for lunch tomorrow! I do not like Old El Paso taco shells and I can't find any Mission shells. The Ortega are sooooooooooooo much better than Old El Paso IMO.

I was wondering if anyone else had noticed the absence of the gluten-free claim on the Ortega boxes or if you have managed to get any response from the company in this regard or if you have eaten any of the boxes that are not labeled gluten-free.


Gluten free Dec. 2011
Dermatitis Herpetiformis

Reynaud's October 2018

Rheumatoid Arthritis October 2018

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join eNewsletter


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):


I do not buy the Ortega taco shells but I do buy the taco sauce.  No mention of gluten-free on the label, but the ingrediants are all gluten free.  Hopefully, the raw materials are gluten-free!  We have not had a glutening yet!  The company probably did not want to test or guarantee that the taco shells are gluten free because of liability issues.  

We eat soft tacos.  I toast them directly on the gas flame on my stove.  Sometimes, I drag out the frying pan and fry them but as tostadas not tacos.  Easier!  


Non-functioning Gall bladder Removal Surgery 2005

Diagnosed via Blood Test and Endoscopy: March 2013

Hashimoto's Thyroiditis -- Stable 2014

Anemia -- Resolved

Fractures (vertebrae): June 2013

Osteopenia/osteoporosis -- June 2013

Allergies and Food Intolerances

Diabetes -- January 2014

Celiac.com - Celiac Disease Board Moderator

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join eNewsletter

Am I wrong? I thought the new labeling guidelines do not require a company to test in order to label gluten free, however, if tested, it has to test below 20ppm. I understand that companies might not be testing & therefore, to cover their rear, they remove the gluten-free labeling. I do suspect this is what is happening in the case of B&G Foods/Ortega. I can't find any of their products now that have the gluten-free labeling on them.

 

Thanks to both of you for replying. I feel safe enough eating them.


Gluten free Dec. 2011
Dermatitis Herpetiformis

Reynaud's October 2018

Rheumatoid Arthritis October 2018

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join eNewsletter

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Restore formatting

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

0


Join eNewsletter