Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-m):


  • You've found your Celiac Tribe! Join our like-minded, private community and share your story, get encouragement and connect with others.

    💬

    • Sign In
    • Sign Up

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

BoiseGirl

Gluten Free Gum and Breath Mints

Recommended Posts


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):


We use Trident.  I am sure there are other gum manufacturers.   I recall that all Trident Gum is gluten free, so I purchase that brand because other brands might have a few products where gluten is involved.  Who has time to think in the grocery line?  Not me.  I am exhausted (not really) from reading labels once I get in line.


Non-functioning Gall bladder Removal Surgery 2005

Diagnosed via Blood Test (DGP IgA only) and Endoscopy: March 2013

Hashimoto's Thyroiditis

Osteopenia/osteoporosis -- June 2013

Allergies and Food Intolerances

Repeat endoscopy/Biopsies: Healed

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I haven't seen gum with gluten but there are some candies and mints that list malt or barley malt as an ingredient.

 

Tic Tacs should be gluten-free.


 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Tic Tacs use rice starch in them & there is nothing in the ingredients list to set off an alarm with me. I use them & have never had a reaction but I have only used the white ones. I did call them just after I went gluten-free 4 years ago & they said there are no gluten ingredients in them. 


Gluten free Dec. 2011
Dermatitis Herpetiformis

Reynaud's October 2018

Rheumatoid Arthritis October 2018

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Be careful - Regular Peppermint Altoids in the regular size tins are gluten-free but the mini ones are not.  Regular Altoids are my mint of choice, but I'll go with white tic tacs if I'm out and can't get them.  I believe (but you should double check) that all life savers varieties are gluten-free, so their pep-o-mint and wintergreen would be ok:

This is from one of those Candy List websites:

Although Wrigley's online gluten-free statement is pretty cagey (saying most products are gluten-free but some might not be, and failing to specify which is which), a statement provided to me by a customer service representative says that all Wrigley products in the U.S. are considered gluten-free except for Altoids Smalls Peppermint Mints (which always have contained gluten in the form of wheat maltodextrin).

Wrigley also makes:

  • Creme Savers
  • Lifesavers
  • Skittles
  • Starburst

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites