Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-m):

Momfor2bs

Gluten free and still stomach issues

Rate this topic

Need some help.  I have been gluten free since August.  I was feeling better (joint pain gone, muscle strength better and not as tired) eating seemed to be better until about three weeks ago.  When I eat ANYTHING it feels like I ate a seven course meal and feel overly stuffed.  It feels like it just sits on the middle of my stomach up toward the top and I get bad gas pains.  I can even hear my stomach making noise.  I am taking a daily probiotic and before every meal I take Digest-All.  I'm hungry and want/eat food, but hate the feeling after I eat.  I just called my GI doctor and he told me to take Phazyme.  I was diag. via a biopsy for Celiac, but just wondering if something else could be going on.  Any words of wisdom would be great since i'm still new to all of this.

Join eNewsletter

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

If you're sure you are totally gluten-free (No gluten sneaking in by way of medications or supplements, or cross-contamination), it could be another food intolerance rearing its ugly head. Dairy would be the first suspect, followed by corn and/or soy. The way to find out would be to eliminate them all until you are feeling better, then add back one at a time.

I went through it. I never lost dairy but it took three and a half years until I got corn and soy back. I still try to avoid them as much as possible but if I do get exposed I don't get sick.

It really stinks that other intolerances crop up to make our lives miserable, but it happens to a lot of us. :angry::(

gluten-free since June, 2011

It took 3 !/2 years but my intolerances to corn, soy, and everything else (except gluten) are gone!

Life is good!

Join eNewsletter