This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Histamine Free Diet- for DH rash might help you too

Mimssa

Mimssa Newbie

I wanted to share what has cleared up my DH rash within a matter of days -- a histamine free diet.

(gluten free too of course).

You can search online for various diet plans for specific foods to avoid and what to eat.

I had been gluten free for over a year, then ate what I thought was custard, only to realize to late it contained cake.  That brought on the worst DH I'd ever experienced and nothing offered even the slightest relief.   I work in the field of holistic health & wellness and am very much against taking powerful antibiotics.  Dapsone, also prescribed for leprosy and HIV patients, didn't make sense to me.

I'm a certified Nutritional Therapist, my first thought was the "leaky gut" diet plan, but my rash was still flaring like crazy.  (The "leaky gut" foods are nearly all high histamine foods.)

Then I started to connect the dots-- rash, histamine response, etc and realized the histamine free diet made sense.  Which meant everything I ate that  I *thought* was healthy & healing was causing my elevated histamine levels to go even crazier.  (I've always eaten clean--my daily diet was about  avocados, yogurt, bananas, lentils, cheese, sauerkraut, oranges, tomatoes, etc--- all high histamine-impacting foods!!).

When I replaced the histamine containing, histamine releasing and DAO blocking foods, I felt relief within 24 hours. In 48 hours the angry redness had nearly disappeared. On day 3, I must have said 100 times "OMG I'm not itching!!".