Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-m):

blueyes08

HELP! I'm a newbie and I need advice!

Rate this topic

Hi All,

I am a newbie to gluten free and also to this forum.  I am not diagnosed Celiac but do believe I am gluten sensitive.  With that being said I also want to note that when I went for the celiac blood test my doctor had me fast beforehand because he was testing for other things as well.  I fasted for 16 hrs total prior to the blood test so I don't know if results would be different had I not fasted.  About 2 years ago I started with a bloating issue but did not realize it was a true issue until the last year when the bloating became sever and relentless!  I turned to my doctor who ran several test (all negative for various things).  I started asking around if anyone has dealt with issues similar to mine and several people suggested I may be gluten sensitive.  I researched it and found several of the symptoms fit me to the "T".  Brain fog, bad fatigue, stabbing stomach pains, sever bloating, joint pains and constipation.  About 3 weeks ago i decided to go gluten-free.  With in 2 days my stomach pains and bloating seemed to disappear.  I also found I was no longer constipated.  However, the last few days I noticed my constipation is back as well as the bloating and stomach pains.  Although, not as sever as prior to going gluten-free but nonetheless it's still back.  My question is, is this normal????  I read that it can take several months for gluten to get out of your system but are flareups normal during this process?  I have been extra vigilant  about cross contamination.  I don't know if Im just losing my mind or what but all I know is the symptoms are coming back and so is my depression.  I just want to feel like my old self again and to know I am on the right track.  Any advice would be greatly appreciated!!! 

Join eNewsletter

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Welcome.