Jump to content
  • Sign Up
kasmel

colbee harvest snaps warning

Rate this topic

Recommended Posts

I just wanted to put a warning out to other celiacs. That they are either contaminated with an ingredient or are not gluten free at all. I had ate these before when first coming off gluten and did not notice the effects they had. I purchased them at Walmart yesterday and found out that they do affect me now that I've been off gluten for several months.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
19 minutes ago, kareng said:

I eat them and have no issues.  According to the website - they have no gluten in any of their products

I am glad they did not effect you. and I have been to the website myself, reading the same thing. but this is the only different item I ate, (other than the papaya fruit) that I have not been eating in awhile. I also did notice that an ingredient in the label was white distilled vinegar. which can have gluten like symtoms... this is a quote from celiac support Association.

"Theoretically, distilled vinegars are highly unlikely to contain any of the celiac toxic amino acid fractions. Yet, a portion of people with celiac disease, up to 10%, self report "gluten" like symptoms after consuming specific products made with distilled vinegar"

so it may be rare, but with what I experienced last night, I wanted to give a general warning. So that either A. maybe others have had reactions from them but did not consider them as the problem. or b. just general knowlege, just in case. 

Edited by kasmel

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 hour ago, kasmel said:

I am glad they did not effect you. and I have been to the website myself, reading the same thing. but this is the only different item I ate, (other than the papaya fruit) that I have not been eating in awhile. I also did notice that an ingredient in the label was white distilled vinegar. which can have gluten like symtoms... this is a quote from celiac support Association.

"Theoretically, distilled vinegars are highly unlikely to contain any of the celiac toxic amino acid fractions. Yet, a portion of people with celiac disease, up to 10%, self report "gluten" like symptoms after consuming specific products made with distilled vinegar"

so it may be rare, but with what I experienced last night, I wanted to give a general warning. So that either A. maybe others have had reactions from them but did not consider them as the problem. or b. just general knowlege, just in case. 

Just curious - they weren't "dried " papayas were they?  Even if they were fresh - they were a new food for you, so you might want to keep an eye on them.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...