Jump to content
  • Sign Up

Rate this topic

Recommended Posts

Hey guys! I have a question about coffee. I'm newly diagnosed and confused. I bought Elisabeth Hasselbeck's book and she writes about being cautious about coffee. Is plain old unflavored coffee safe? I understand why some flavors or fancy drinks may be unsafe, but is a cup of coffee with milk (excluding a dairy issue) ok? I have some walmart brand 100% arabica k-cups and I assume they're fine, but wanted to ask!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I have no experience with K-cubs would I would not trust instant things like that. You have to be careful with certain brands that run flavor lines in the same facility on any coffee. I use a few brands I trust that do not do "Added Flavors" or have gluten-free certification. Most people never have issues with coffees, I have personally ran into starbucks, and a few others that I have bought unflavored grounds and gotten sick from the resulting brewed coffee.  

On a side note some celiacs react bad to coffee regardless, some find the caffeine bothers their gut or makes them feel bad with various systems similar to being glutened. Others say it helps them stay calm and clear minded, we are all different in how foods will react with us. I for one drink just tea and coffee all day, and find it relaxing. Brands I trust are FreshRoastedCoffee and Gerbs as I never have a issue with them.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
17 minutes ago, Fbmb said:

Hey guys! I have a question about coffee. I'm newly diagnosed and confused. I bought Elisabeth Hasselbeck's book and she writes about being cautious about coffee. Is plain old unflavored coffee safe? I understand why some flavors or fancy drinks may be unsafe, but is a cup of coffee with milk (excluding a dairy issue) ok? I have some walmart brand 100% arabica k-cups and I assume they're fine, but wanted to ask!

They should be fine.  If you read the ingredients on the box they came in - it probably just lists coffee. Plain coffee beans or ground are fine.   I actually have never found a flavored coffee ( grounds or beans) to contain gluten but there is a small possibility they could use barley to sweeten them.  Also I would read every instant coffee mix - especially those fancy flavors.

the book you mentioned has a few questionable bits of info, so use your common sense if it seems extreme.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
15 minutes ago, kareng said:

They should be fine.  If you read the ingredients on the box they came in - it probably just lists coffee. Plain coffee beans or ground are fine.   I actually have never found a flavored coffee ( grounds or beans) to contain gluten but there is a small possibility they could use barley to sweeten them.  Also I would read every instant coffee mix - especially those fancy flavors.

the book you mentioned has a few questionable bits of info, so use your common sense if it seems extreme.

My aunt hasn't celiac and also said that. She thinks she goes a little overboard. I'm overwhelmed. Thank you!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...